UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Where Does It Name The Startup Form?, Access 2016    
 
   
mempie
post Nov 6 2019, 10:15 AM
Post#1



Posts: 262
Joined: 27-September 01



Hello. I was looking at a database I'll be working on later. At startup it launches a form called frmStartup, with some warning text on a label and an OK button. The OK click event has the rest of the startup code, which closes frmStartup and opens the main menu form. I can't see how it launches frmStartup. There is no autoexec macro. When I go to Options - Current Database - Display Form:, it says "None". How else can it launch frmStartup?

Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
dmhzx
post Nov 6 2019, 10:19 AM
Post#2



Posts: 7,115
Joined: 22-December 10
From: England


File
Options
CurrentDaabase
Display Form

Give a drop down of all forms, and defaults to none
Go to the top of the page
 
LeeAnn
post Nov 6 2019, 10:22 AM
Post#3



Posts: 1,291
Joined: 2-February 00
From: Mississippi USA Central Time Zone


One thing that comes to mind is the Autoexec macro may be a hidden object therefore you can't see it. There is a setting in Access that allows you to see hidden objects, you may want to turn that on.

--------------------
Lee Ann Davidson
Go to the top of the page
 
mempie
post Nov 18 2019, 10:03 AM
Post#4



Posts: 262
Joined: 27-September 01



The thought that there could be a hidden autoexec macro was in the back of my mind. It never made it to the front of my mind, because the programmer did nothing else to lock down the database. She didn't even make an .accde file. When I was able to look at the database again (several days later), I checked it. Sure enough, she had hidden all the macros and modules using the Navigation Pane's navigation options. I didn't know that option existed. Its function isn't clear until you try it. There was indeed an autoexec macro which launched frmStartup. Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
gemmathehusky
post Dec 3 2019, 07:35 AM
Post#5


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 4,745
Joined: 5-June 07
From: UK


it probably wasn't done that way for malicious reasons, more as a limited safeguard. Releasing full code with no protection exposes everything and allows modifications to be made.

I always use an autoexec macro, but I also only issue compiled databases.

--------------------
Dave (Male)

(Gemma was my dog)
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    6th December 2019 - 01:20 AM