UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Record Saving But Also Overwriting Random Records, Access 2016    
 
   
7MoonSage
post Jul 3 2019, 10:41 AM
Post#1



Posts: 16
Joined: 25-April 19



To begin, my database has already been split among 3 user terminals. The only issue I'm having so far is a weird one.

Terminal 1 Creates the Recordset using these fields, HIN - Model Type - Model - Color - etc.
Terminal 2 Pulls up the HIN from created recordsets to add - Assembler - Assembly Date - etc
Terminal 3 Pulls up the HIN from created recordsets to add Inspector - Inspected Date- etc

When I get to terminal 3 , I notice in my dropdown list there are Duplicate HINs for some reason.

So I dig further and notice one is the record that's being updated, and the other is a previously existing record who's HIN was overwritten with the one being updated. Does anyone know why this is happening?

My primary key is an autonumber called HINid, which is how I caught on to the overwrites. (I can send a duplicate file via email or skype, as it is too large to even zip.)
Go to the top of the page
 
orange999
post Jul 3 2019, 04:42 PM
Post#2



Posts: 1,926
Joined: 10-February 08
From: Ottawa, Ont, Canada; West Palm Beach, FL


Please tell us about the application and the "business" this data base is intended to support.
What exactly do you mean when you say" my database has already been split among 3 user terminals."
This post has been edited by orange999: Jul 3 2019, 04:43 PM

--------------------
Good luck with your project!
Go to the top of the page
 
R. Hicks
post Jul 3 2019, 06:42 PM
Post#3


UA Forum Administrator
Posts: 40,505
Joined: 8-February 00
From: Birmingham, Alabama USA


Are you using a bound form (to a table or query) for the users to update the data ???
Also I assume that the database is split using a single backend file with each user using a linked frontend file to the backend.

R.

--------------------
Ricky Hicks
Birmingham, Alabama USA
Go to the top of the page
 
7MoonSage
post Jul 9 2019, 01:20 PM
Post#4



Posts: 16
Joined: 25-April 19



Orange, the application is used to track the manufacturing process of Kayaks.
and I said split because my front-end is on 3 computers.

R. Hicks, yes, there's 3 different forms that are used to add data to a record. And you are correct in your assumption.
Go to the top of the page
 
orange999
post Jul 9 2019, 03:21 PM
Post#5



Posts: 1,926
Joined: 10-February 08
From: Ottawa, Ont, Canada; West Palm Beach, FL


Could you make a copy of your database, remove all but 2 or 3 records --that still show the problem you are reporting?
I think we need to see something to work with.

--------------------
Good luck with your project!
Go to the top of the page
 
7MoonSage
post Jul 10 2019, 12:50 PM
Post#6



Posts: 16
Joined: 25-April 19



I can do that and send you a copy, yes.
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    17th July 2019 - 10:18 PM