UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Something Odd Is Happening With Mytable's Autonumber Primary Key, Access 2013    
 
   
syricas
post May 15 2019, 06:00 PM
Post#1



Posts: 25
Joined: 14-August 18



Hey UtterAccessers!

I have something happening with my primary key auto number field named "GroupsheetID". I created a new form from the table and when all other criteria is entered, the form is assigned a "GroupsheetID" and then a subform is populated based on that information. The issue I'm having is that the autonumbers have huge holes in between. It will go along fine for a while, and only increment by one but then it will jump up by like a thousand. I know there are some forms that might not have been used and some forms that were deleted, but not that many! Please let me know if anyone knows why something like this would happen. I've attached the data from the table (in excel) and a screenshot of the design view of my table. Please Help!!
Thanks

Syri
Attached File(s)
Attached File  dvGSDF.JPG ( 65.83K )Number of downloads: 5
Attached File  GroupsheetDF.zip ( 11.89K )Number of downloads: 2
 
Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post May 15 2019, 06:36 PM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 11,154
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


Have a read in the wiki

hth,

d

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 
gemmathehusky
post May 16 2019, 05:59 AM
Post#3


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 4,528
Joined: 5-June 07
From: UK


It's odd and not odd.

The thing is, you just CANNOT expect an autonumber to maintain an intact ordered sequence.
If that's what you need, then you need a different solution.

--------------------
Dave (Male)

(Gemma was my dog)
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post May 16 2019, 01:35 PM
Post#4


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 75,270
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi Syri. Are you missing any records? If not, then there's no need to worry about the missing autonumbers. Otherwise, we'll have to figure out what happened to the missing records.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
syricas
post May 16 2019, 02:05 PM
Post#5



Posts: 25
Joined: 14-August 18



hmmmm....ok

I have dealt with hundreds of tables with auto-numbers that are used as field Identifiers and honestly, I've never seen such big holes in the sequence like the example I shared. I'm reading the Wiki page now but I'm still curious to see if anyone else has come across this issue.

Syri
Go to the top of the page
 
syricas
post May 16 2019, 02:05 PM
Post#6



Posts: 25
Joined: 14-August 18



Hi dB -

Nope - no missing records at all....
Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post May 16 2019, 02:07 PM
Post#7


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 11,154
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


>> I'm still curious to see if anyone else has come across this issue. <<

Everyone!

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 
syricas
post May 16 2019, 02:47 PM
Post#8



Posts: 25
Joined: 14-August 18



LOL - thanks David!

You're so....hmmm..... cheeky!!

Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post May 16 2019, 03:38 PM
Post#9


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 11,154
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


wink.gif

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 
gemmathehusky
post May 16 2019, 03:46 PM
Post#10


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 4,528
Joined: 5-June 07
From: UK


Yes. I have seen tables jump. It doesn't bother me, because I never try to use the ID to maintain an intact sequence.

You know you will get missing numbers if you start an entry, and then cancel it. The autonumber that was issued will be lost.




--------------------
Dave (Male)

(Gemma was my dog)
Go to the top of the page
 
syricas
post May 17 2019, 11:12 AM
Post#11



Posts: 25
Joined: 14-August 18



Hi Dave -

I agree, I have seen numbers jump because of deletions, but if it does happen, it only jumps by a couple of numbers. I started in double digits in the table; and now I'm around 6K. with only 158 records total. I did read that if you compact and repair the db that it can cause gaps but I'm kind of freaked out by the issue still. And you guys have been great, telling me its normal, but it still seems hinky to me...
Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post May 17 2019, 12:13 PM
Post#12


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 11,154
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


The trick is to know that it doesn't matter what value your autonumber is.

As long as it is unique to identify the row in the table (if it's a primary key) then it doesn't matter.

It should not bee seen outside of the database.

If you require 'sane' numbers for users' consumption then you will have to investigate an additional solution (check the wiki again!)

hth,

d

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    19th May 2019 - 09:49 AM