UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Auto Resize, Access 2016    
 
   
ollyhutsy
post Jan 22 2020, 09:46 AM
Post#1



Posts: 81
Joined: 16-October 19
From: United Kingdom


I am currently using access as a project manage on runtime on multiple pc's at my workplace. lots with different sized screens. I was wondering if it was possible to auto-resize some forms in relation to the resolution of the computer screen. i am currently running access 2016.
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Jan 22 2020, 10:32 AM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 2,182
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


Yes it is certainly possible and I use the feature in all my production databases.
See my Automatic Form Resizing Tutorial for detailed info, an example app and all required code.

You can also try the built in form anchoring feature but I personally find that very unsatisfactory.

--------------------
Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
Website, email
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jan 22 2020, 10:56 AM
Post#3


UA Moderator
Posts: 77,494
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Please correct me if I'm wrong, but one difference between the two is the auto resize code only works when the form is maximized; whereas, anchoring works on non maximized forms. Is this correct?

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Jan 22 2020, 11:29 AM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 2,182
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


Auto resizing works on any form whether maximised or not, popup or not.
If you use overlapping windows, the form size is increased proportionately (where not maximized)
For both overlapping windows and tabbed documents, the size and positions of each control and their contents are increased proportionately.

I never use anchoring as I find it a very poor substitute for automatic form resizing (AFR)

--------------------
Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
Website, email
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jan 22 2020, 11:31 AM
Post#5


UA Moderator
Posts: 77,494
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Okay. Thanks for the clarification.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
ollyhutsy
post Jan 24 2020, 02:38 AM
Post#6



Posts: 81
Joined: 16-October 19
From: United Kingdom


their is a positioning issue with the form when it opens with the resize module i downloaded from the link, it is scrolled down and to the right. Im not sure why because the form fits to the screen. This is solved by

'UseMDIMode property =1 (overlapping windows) or = 0 (tabbed documents)
'next section fixes display issue for users of tabbed documents (MDIMode=0)
If CurrentDb.Properties("UseMDIMode") = 0 Then
MaximizeNavigationPane
DoEvents
MinimizeNavigationPane
End If

which works fine on PC's in the office which i am running with access installed. However for computers in the workshop I am running access on runtime with no navigation bar. This code doesn't work for the runtime version, any suggestios?
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Jan 24 2020, 02:24 PM
Post#7


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 2,182
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


Hi
The positioning issue appears to be a bug in Access itself.
I reported it a long time ago along with various other annoyances but there's been no sign of MS fixing any of them as yet!

I added that code modification about a year ago to deal with that positioning annoyance pending MS dealing with it.
Until now nobody had reported the issue with runtime and it appears that I hadn't tested it myself in runtime mode.

But of course, you are correct.
Code to modify the navigation pane fails in the runtime version
However the original fix - setting the form tag value = 1 - still works for tabbed documents

Attached is a zip file containing 4 versions of a simple test file PopupOrNot - for Overlapping Windows (OW) & TabbedDocuments (TD) - both ACCDB & ACCDR
Each includes a startup form & 5 other forms:

Attached File  MainForm.PNG ( 27.34K )Number of downloads: 1


The button to show/hide the nav pane is automatically disabled in the runtime version

You should see that all 5 forms are correctly displayed for overlapping windows in both ACCDB & ACCDR
Everything is also fine for the ACCDB version of tabbed documents
However in the ACCDR tabbed documents app - the non-tag forms are shifted both horizontally & vertically

So you have two possible solutions.
1. Using tabbed document display - set the form tag value = 1
2. Change to overlapping windows display - that works perfectly without needing any code tweak.

As you are removing parts of the interface such as the navigation pane, I personally think overlapping windows is more suitable anyway

Many thanks for letting me know about this issue
I have just updated my website article in line with the above points
Attached File(s)
Attached File  PopUpOrNot_v2.zip ( 265.15K )Number of downloads: 4
 

--------------------
Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
Website, email
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    19th February 2020 - 07:52 AM