UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Migrate Ms Access To Another Software Tool, Access 2013    

amaklop
post Jun 16 2019, 10:08 AM
Post#1

My husband owns a one-man company. I am a Software developer and I wrote a MS Access Database for his company that handles Customers, Invoicing, Delivery Notes, Quotes, Purhase Orders, Inventory, Customer Statements, Stock counts, etc. We are looking at switching over to Mac from Windows and I can't find a clean alternative to MS Access for a Mac. I have been wanting to try "migrate" our database to another tool. Even tried to rewrite it using Python and Django but had to stop as we have two pre-schoolers and I don't have much time. Can anyone give me advice on an Alternative to MS Access (back-end DB as well as Front-end forms). Preferably one that will work on a Mac Book or on the cloud that I can access from a Mac Book. Bonus will be if it is relatively easy or inexpensive to migrate.
Go to the top of the page

theDBguy
post Jun 16 2019, 10:26 AM
Post#2

Access Wiki and Forums Moderator

Hi. Have you looked at either Zoho or Caspio? Just a thought...

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email

GroverParkGeorge
post Jun 16 2019, 10:46 AM
Post#3

UA Admin

You can obtain a Windows emulator for your Mac, like Parallels, which will allow you to continue running the MS Access solution in that environment and avoid the entire cost and hassles of recreating it.
This post has been edited by GroverParkGeorge: Jun 16 2019, 11:22 AM

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server

projecttoday
post Jun 16 2019, 11:34 AM
Post#4

UtterAccess VIP