UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Conditional Formatting Causing Issues, Access 2016    
 
   
Jdk412
post Jun 17 2019, 01:32 PM
Post#1



Posts: 76
Joined: 16-July 18
From: Detroit, MI


Good afternoon,

I am having an issue where my boxes that have conditional formatting attached to them do not completely fill with back color
This post has been edited by Jdk412: Jun 17 2019, 01:32 PM
Attached File(s)
Attached File  ConditionalFormattingBroken.JPG ( 60.21K )Number of downloads: 8
 
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jun 17 2019, 01:47 PM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 75,729
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


In your CF rules, try specifying both the fore and back colors, if you can.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
Jdk412
post Jun 17 2019, 01:59 PM
Post#3



Posts: 76
Joined: 16-July 18
From: Detroit, MI


There is only an option to change font color and background.

If it helps this is my formatting
This post has been edited by Jdk412: Jun 17 2019, 02:00 PM
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Capture.JPG ( 38.34K )Number of downloads: 2
 
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jun 17 2019, 02:54 PM
Post#4


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 75,729
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Okay, looks like you got them covered. If that's the case, then perhaps go back to your form's design view and make sure the textbox is on top of anything else around it. Do you know what I mean?

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
Peter Hibbs
post Jun 18 2019, 05:17 AM
Post#5


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,696
Joined: 17-June 10
From: Dorset. UK.


Hi jdk,

What value have you got in the Top Margin property of the text boxes?

Peter Hibbs.
Go to the top of the page
 
Jdk412
post Jun 18 2019, 07:33 AM
Post#6



Posts: 76
Joined: 16-July 18
From: Detroit, MI


Yep, it's not overlaying anything and .1 is what my top margin is. After playing with margins this is what's happening it is not backfilling the margin for only some of the boxes with the conditional formatting

if worse comes to worst I will build my formatting into my VBA code

It's weird the boxes that have this issue with jump to different boxes with this same conditional formatting if I make modifications. These forms are subforms may that be causing issues?
This post has been edited by Jdk412: Jun 18 2019, 07:53 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
Peter Hibbs
post Jun 18 2019, 08:09 AM
Post#7


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,696
Joined: 17-June 10
From: Dorset. UK.


Yes, I have noticed that the Back Color does not work (sometimes) where the margins are set to a value greater than 0 and I don't have any solution for that (maybe it's a bug in Access).

I notice that the Back Color for all the controls is set to grey so why do you need to use CF for the back color, could you just set the back color to grey anyway which would fix the problem (maybe)?

Peter Hibbs.
Go to the top of the page
 
Jdk412
post Jun 18 2019, 11:14 AM
Post#8



Posts: 76
Joined: 16-July 18
From: Detroit, MI


The problem is it falls to the CF for the back color and there is no option to use the controls back color

Well I guess ill just make some VBA to setup my conditional formatting
Go to the top of the page
 
Peter Hibbs
post Jun 18 2019, 11:22 AM
Post#9


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,696
Joined: 17-June 10
From: Dorset. UK.


Not sure I understand that but good luck with the VBA code anyway.

Peter.
Go to the top of the page
 
Jdk412
post Jun 18 2019, 11:34 AM
Post#10



Posts: 76
Joined: 16-July 18
From: Detroit, MI


QUOTE
Not sure I understand that but good luck with the VBA code anyway.


Yeah me either... iconfused.gif

so I found a different workaround I just placed a rectangle that is my control size right behind my control and then I [Sent to Back] so even when the margins get messed up it shows the rectangles back color for the area the margins messed up.

It seems to be a bug that causes the margin to apply strangely with CF on only random controls.
This post has been edited by Jdk412: Jun 18 2019, 11:39 AM
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    21st July 2019 - 09:10 PM