UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Brand New Member - Help On Design Of Database, Access 2016    

SimonSmith
post May 7 2019, 05:10 PM
Post#1

Man, am I glad I found this community. I have read the rules and the new user's guidelines as well as the 2 chapters of Database Basics, good stuff. I even tried to search this site and as a newbie, I'm unsure of which questions to ask or how to ask them!

I am attempting to design a database and related queries, forms and reports to handle warranty records for my company. We currently do this with a few huge 3-ring binders, Quickbooks and our CRM software. We need to have this information in one place and be able to add records, search and produce reports. I have no experience with Access, my only DB experience is from years ago when I did some work in DBaseIII+.

We manufacture a specialty tool, and we have two production lines: Manufacturing and Factory Reconditioning (Reman). When a new tool is built, it gets a unique serial number. If that tool fails in the field, we send a replacement tool and, when we receive the defective tool, we rebuild it and use the same Serial Number with an "R" suffix. This "R" suffix can easily be changed to suit the needs of our proposed database, it just happens to be the way we are doing it now.

Database Goals:
Search or extract records based on customer name (or number) for number of warranty claims and original shipment date to verify warranty is active. The original warranty is 12 months from date of shipment.
Search or extract records based on serial number of the product to determine how many times it was reconditioned and to whom it was sent as a replacement. The Reman warranty is 2 months from date of shipment, except if the original warranty is still in effect. Short version is original warranty takes precedence.