UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
2 Pages V < 1 2  (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Version For Database Development?, Access 2016    
 
   
projecttoday
post Sep 12 2019, 07:02 AM
Post#21


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 10,966
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


So if you're using Office 365 and your internet is not working can you develop in Access? Can you use your existing Access databases?

--------------------
Robert Crouser
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Sep 12 2019, 07:11 AM
Post#22


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,845
Joined: 30-June 11



QUOTE
So if you're using Office 365 and your internet is not working can you develop in Access? Can you use your existing Access databases?

As I stated, if Office 365 can't call home after 30 days (I believe) the applications shut down and will no longer work.

I had built a VM with it and with no Network for security reason due to the nature of work I was doing for a client. One day, I got a warning and Office no longer worked. The only fix is to allow network access for it to call home. It's a pain and a serious security issue for certain work environments.


QUOTE
Whereas with Windows 10, you can defer for a limited time depending on whether its a feature update or security update (100 or 35 days IIRC) but cannot stop updates completely

I just had Windows 10 ask to perform an update and declined right now, and it still proceeded, an hour and a half later I had been upgraded to 1903. The last major upgrade reset all sort of privacy settings (so I have to review everything, again). Since 1903, VPN no longer works, background changed, ... and they wonder why people are looking for alternative!

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Sep 12 2019, 07:21 AM
Post#23


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 10,966
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


So even if the internet is down you can use and modify the database for 30 days.

If you decide you don't want Office 365 can you copy your database and convert into an ordinary .accdb and use it with desktop Access?

--------------------
Robert Crouser
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Sep 12 2019, 07:26 AM
Post#24


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,845
Joined: 30-June 11



Access 365 still use accdb, so there is nothing to covert if you switch back to say 2016, 2013. Access 365 is a standard desktop version. 2016, 2019 , ... are just perpetual licensed version and O365 is a subscription based version, but they are all one and the same installation desktop software.
Yes, it will work for a period of time without Internet access. Could you imagine it not working at all without continuous Internet access! Maybe in the next release!!! ohyeah.gif

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Sep 12 2019, 08:04 AM
Post#25


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 10,966
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


So then Office 365 is automatic updates. And if you turn off the updates as was mentioned just a couple of posts ago what is left?

--------------------
Robert Crouser
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Sep 12 2019, 08:48 AM
Post#26


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,845
Joined: 30-June 11



It's not been that simple to date. Up until now, because of bugs, you needed the updates, that then introduced new bugs. See where this is going! It a cat and mouse game, trying to find the most stable release. It's been one thing after another. That is why I stay with A2010 and A2013 for most of my work.

We haven't gotten into release channels, ...

I'm going to stop here.

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
JonSmith
post Sep 13 2019, 03:09 AM
Post#27


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 4,053
Joined: 19-October 10



Its basically the same across the whole of Office, not just access. For example a few months ago I turned on my O365 updates for Outlook as they had been turned off by default in my organisation.
I got some cool new features like extra time zones in my calendar, a new style but it also completely killed a super buggy COM addin in our organisation for booking rooms (great excuse for me to not book meetings now tongue.gif).

Access is the same, one day some new features can just tank existing functionality, luckily you can disable them on a machine used as a dev environment but you can't convince your clients to do so on their normal machines. There is an argument for maintaining both a base Access 2019 version without new features and an O365 with all the new bells and whistles and bugs.

You also need to be super wary of the false idea that a .accdb will work on 2007 updates. Its not as simple as that.
For example if you open a database in Access 2010 and edit a form to add a layout option you can have 'empty cells' in that layout. Go back to that database in 2007 and open that form and Access will crash hard. Remove the layout in 2010 and try again, still crashes hard because of artifacts left in the Form. You can manually edit them out by exporting the form to a text file and isolating the 'bad' lines and re-importing but its a huge chore (if you cant tell I have done this around 5-6 years ago).
There is absolutely no reason to assume this was an isolated example and that by editing a .accdb in O365 you dont introduce an artifact to a form or report that becomes very difficult to remove and causes those forms to crash in earlier versions.


I cannot see any reliable catch all solution here. Sticking on 2010 or 2013 etc risks your stuff breaking due to new features interfering as with the COM addin example.. Using the latest O365 means you risk your work not working on older versions and not being backwards compatible.
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Sep 13 2019, 05:57 AM
Post#28


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,845
Joined: 30-June 11



All I can say is that in all my years I have never experienced such unreliable, buggy, problematic experience as I have since Access 2016/Office 365 came out! I used to track bugs on my blog and stopped as it was taking up too much of my time since A2016/O365 came out. I outright lost my biggest client to continual issues/downtime cause by buggy O365 as they moved completely away from MS products in frustration and I recently finished migrating another major client away from Access, which they had be solely running for 7+ years to manage their entire business, due to O365 bugs breaking, and thousands of $$$ in downtime because of update bugs that paralyzed them from working. One such example was: the client walking into their office in the morning and Access won't work because of an update that got pushed during the night and then having 12 employee twiddling the thumbs for hours and hours. I advise my own client to stay away from 2016+ and O365. IMHO, you are doing yourself a favor sticking with a static/mature product such as 2010 or 2013.

And we haven't even gotten into discussing bitness, update channels, automatic updates, no GUI for managing update (say hello to DOS again!), ... and the average user is supposed to be good with all this, seriously?!

I, myself, remain primarily running Access 2010 and 2013 and both have been stable (with regard to Access) for quite some time and have never had issues, this is why this is what I professionally recommend.

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
Digmen1
post Yesterday, 12:54 PM
Post#29



Posts: 368
Joined: 14-April 02
From: New Zealand


I'm just a casual amateur home user of Access and I have lots of access data bases.
I'm using Office 365 the yearly subscription version on my PC.
I just wish the MS would do some more work on Aces.
Progress is glacial
I use the MS Feedback option, there are many good suggestions and bug reports.
But their standard reply is "The Access team is looking at this"
How many people are in the Access Team, 1, 2, 5 or 10 or is it just a bot?

--------------------
Regards
Digby
NZ
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Yesterday, 01:00 PM
Post#30


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,845
Joined: 30-June 11



A few members, not sure of the total number, but I don't think Access has been a priority for many years now. I think like pretty much all companies, they are spread thin.

The Feedback/UserVoice are a waste of time, the stats just don't lie:

http://www.devhut.net/2016/10/30/access-us...year-in-review/
http://www.devhut.net/2017/10/20/access-us...year-in-review/

It sad, because if they listened more, the product would be so much more evolved and what people want and are asking for. Instead they have let their competitors pull ahead on many fronts while they stood still on most fronts (we still have the same SQL editor as 20 years ago, the VBE hasn't evolved since before I can remember, ...). But more than anything, it's the instability of Win/Office that are their biggest issue right now! Businesses can't afford the type of downtime being caused by their complete lack of QA.

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
WildBird
post Yesterday, 06:42 PM
Post#31


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 3,608
Joined: 19-August 03
From: Auckland, Little Australia


Just following this thread. I am often living without internet and like to be able to have a stand alone system. My new laptop has Office 365. Currently living in a 'proper' city and have WiFi at home, however this could change at any stage, i.e. I might move again. Is there any way to get an older version that DOESNT require any internet connection?

I very rarely use Access on it, but is a nice to have (I much prefer to work at a client site and use their infrastructure), but I do need Word so I can keep my resume up to date and apply for jobs etc.


--------------------
Beer, natures brain defragging tool.
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Yesterday, 08:01 PM
Post#32


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,845
Joined: 30-June 11



QUOTE
Is there any way to get an older version that DOESNT require any internet connection?

You need to turn towards Amazon or otherwise trustworthy vendors.

Just as an example (I believe 2013 doesn't require to call home, but you should validate this fact):
https://www.amazon.ca/Office-Home-Business-...4878&sr=8-3

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
2 Pages V < 1 2


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    19th September 2019 - 09:55 AM