UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Win10 Inconsistent State, Any Versions    
 
   
mari13598
post Feb 3 2019, 03:19 PM
Post#1



Posts: 24
Joined: 21-June 18



Hello,

Running an 2013 access db that lives on a network drive with up to 10 users. All users were running windows 7. This has been working well for the last couple of years until users were upgraded to windows 10.

Now we are getting the error message "Microsoft Access has detected that this database is in an inconsistent state, and will attempt to recover the database."

I am able to recover the database and have not lost any data. We may go a few days without the error and then may have a problem with it two or three times in one day. Have experienced this error after monthly patch updates were installed.

What are the options to eliminate this error?

I wanted to split the database but cannot put it on the local drive of my LT. It would have to stay on a network drive. Is that possible?

Thanks,

Marianne
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Feb 3 2019, 04:04 PM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,602
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


There is a Windows bug that affects Access for Office 365. Not sure about A2013. See https://www.devhut.net/2018/06/13/access-bu...ognized-format/

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
mari13598
post Feb 3 2019, 04:22 PM
Post#3



Posts: 24
Joined: 21-June 18



Will splitting the database help?
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Feb 3 2019, 04:39 PM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,602
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


YES!!!!!
You would never allow several people to drive your car at once as it would crash
Similarly NEVER allow users to share a database - it will at some point become irretrievably corrupted and unuseable
Indeed that may have already happened to some of your data.

You should split any production database with multiple users. Backend on a shared network drive
Each user MUST have their own copy of the frontend on their own hard drive - NOT on a NETWORK drive

This is an URGENT PRIORITY. Until that is in place, BACKUP several times each day just in case.

Also do NOT allow users to connect to the network wirelessly

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
mari13598
post Feb 3 2019, 06:06 PM
Post#5



Posts: 24
Joined: 21-June 18



Thanks! I appreciate all the help very much!
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Feb 3 2019, 06:51 PM
Post#6


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,602
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


You're welcome. Don't put off splitting the db and distributing local copies of the FE to all users

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Feb 3 2019, 07:18 PM
Post#7


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,830
Joined: 30-June 11



You may like to review, for general knowledge, the following articles:

http://www.devhut.net/2017/04/09/setting-u...ccess-database/

http://www.devhut.net/2017/04/20/access-be...shooting-steps/



--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
mari13598
post Feb 27 2019, 11:04 PM
Post#8



Posts: 24
Joined: 21-June 18



Many thanks for help with this issue.

Access database successfully split as suggested. Still received the same errors until the IT dept upgraded the server and workstations to another version of win10. All has been quiet since then.

Now, is there a way to automate copying a new front end file to all the local workstations? I have some very non-technical people who would not be able to competently copy a new file every time new updates need to be implemented, which is never ending.
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Feb 28 2019, 04:03 AM
Post#9


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,602
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


There are several different ways of doing this.

In my case, when users click on the desktop shortcut to my apps, they initially see a 'splash' screen.
This is a starter utility that checks for a newer version of the FE in a specified network folder.
If users have the latest version, the utility starts the main app and closes itself.
If a newer version exists, all relevant files are automatically copied to the local drive then the main app starts (as above).
The starter utility can even update itself if a newer version exists.

The process is very fast as a Windows API is used to copy files where needed from the network.

Others may chip in with different approaches using batch files or VB scripts.
A Google search will find several free auto FE updaters

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Feb 28 2019, 05:01 AM
Post#10


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,830
Joined: 30-June 11



Create a simply vbscript to copy the master file on the server to the local PC and launch it. Then create a shortcut to that vbscript file and give a copy of the shortcut to each user.

http://www.devhut.net/2010/09/15/launch-op...bscript-part-2/



--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
mari13598
post May 4 2019, 03:42 PM
Post#11



Posts: 24
Joined: 21-June 18



Hello!

I hope this spring is finding everyone well. smile.gif

I setup the vbscript from the previous message, but I must be missing something. It does not delete and update the FE with a new version unless I delete the FE file from databases folder first.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post May 4 2019, 08:19 PM
Post#12


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,830
Joined: 30-June 11



Sorry, that is the wrong version of the script, I will have to update the post. You should be able to update
CODE
    If objFSO.FileExists(sPath & sFrontEnd) Then

    Else
          If objFSO.FolderExists(sPath) then
                'Delete folder to perform cleanup of old version(s)
                Set DelFoldr = objFSO.GetFolder(sPath)
                DelFoldr.Delete
          End if
          'Create folder and then copy required file(s)
          Set objFolderCreate = objFSO.CreateFolder(sPath)
          objFSO.CopyFile sVBSPath & "\" & sFrontEnd, sPath & _
                          sFrontEnd, OverWriteExisting
    End if

to
CODE
          If objFSO.FolderExists(sPath) then
                'Delete folder to perform cleanup of old version(s)
                Set DelFoldr = objFSO.GetFolder(sPath)
                DelFoldr.Delete
          End if
          'Create folder and then copy required file(s)
          Set objFolderCreate = objFSO.CreateFolder(sPath)
          objFSO.CopyFile sVBSPath & "\" & sFrontEnd, sPath & _
                          sFrontEnd, OverWriteExisting

Effectively if the db folder exists, then delete it and then recreate it and copy the FE over.,

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
mari13598
post May 4 2019, 09:20 PM
Post#13



Posts: 24
Joined: 21-June 18



Thank you so much!
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    15th September 2019 - 08:41 AM