UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Renaming Field Names Of An Existing Table, Access 2016    
 
   
SemiAuto40
post Feb 25 2020, 02:16 PM
Post#1



Posts: 735
Joined: 3-April 12
From: L.A. (lower Alabama)


I know that I have done this hundreds of times before with a table containing data... but... after inheriting a database I am attempting to rename the field names to sensible names so that I can redesign it. I do my normal process rename the field, save it, compact and repair and when I reopen the data table - POOF! the field name is back to what it was before I changed it. What is up with this!?

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Feb 25 2020, 02:17 PM
Post#2


UA Admin
Posts: 36,986
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


First thought. You're looking at linked tables that physically reside in a different accdb.

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
msbad1959
post Feb 25 2020, 02:30 PM
Post#3



Posts: 40
Joined: 5-June 18



Could the database be read only?
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Feb 25 2020, 02:37 PM
Post#4


UA Admin
Posts: 36,986
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


It could be. What indications do you have that it might be, other than this problem?

I wonder if you saw my suggested possibility. I wonder if you verified whether you are looking at linked tables or local tables.

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
SemiAuto40
post Feb 25 2020, 02:44 PM
Post#5



Posts: 735
Joined: 3-April 12
From: L.A. (lower Alabama)


Local table since I sucked it into a new database.

*But I just found out the problem. I was only changing the case of the field names in places. I actually have to do more of a radical name change for it to take.

Thanks for the help uarulez2.gif
This post has been edited by SemiAuto40: Feb 25 2020, 02:51 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Feb 25 2020, 02:50 PM
Post#6


UA Admin
Posts: 36,986
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Okay, then. Local tables.

Can you add a new field? Can you create new tables? Can you create and save forms?
This post has been edited by GroverParkGeorge: Feb 25 2020, 02:52 PM

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Feb 25 2020, 03:29 PM
Post#7


UA Admin
Posts: 36,986
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Ah, that's a well-known "feature". If I'd realized you were only trying to change case, I might have thought to mention it.

The work - around, as you have found, would be to change the name to something with more or fewer characters, then restore the original name, with the desired case for letters.

I should have noted. The reason this problem exists is that Access is, by default, not case sensitive. Hence, the change from lower case to upper case or vice versa doesn't trigger the flag that it was changed. Access does honor cases, but this little bug (or feature) prevents case corrections without additional "changes" that set the flag a change was made.
This post has been edited by GroverParkGeorge: Feb 25 2020, 03:38 PM

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    4th April 2020 - 07:48 AM