UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> "you Do Not Have The Necessary Permissions..", Access 2007    
 
   
45Player
post Jun 4 2020, 02:57 PM
Post#1



Posts: 154
Joined: 18-June 04



A client got the following error
"You do not have the necessary permissions to use the BEPurchases.mdb object.
Have your system administrator or the person who created the object establish the appropriate permissions for you"

I created this object on my client's network but I get the same error.
The client has a backup from last weekend but I'm trying to open it to get the orders entered since then.

Any ideas on how to get around this ?
This post has been edited by 45Player: Jun 4 2020, 03:01 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jun 4 2020, 03:06 PM
Post#2


UA Moderator
Posts: 78,461
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Sounds like "somebody" may have changed the file permissions. Have you verified them?

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
45Player
post Jun 4 2020, 03:21 PM
Post#3



Posts: 154
Joined: 18-June 04



When I right-click on the file, and look at Properties/Security, it looks like I have full permissions.
I'm not good at the Security aspect of these things, I'm just a development programmer!
Is there any way I can change the permissions ?
I have the file copied to my pc.
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jun 4 2020, 04:03 PM
Post#4


UA Moderator
Posts: 78,461
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. File permissions are system specific. You could adjust the file permission on your machine, but as soon as you send a copy of that file to another machine or folder location on the network, it will have a different set of permissions. If you can go to the Security tab on the file's Properties Window, see if you can click on the Edit button to change its permissions.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
45Player
post Jun 4 2020, 04:25 PM
Post#5



Posts: 154
Joined: 18-June 04



Thanks very much for replying. I did that but it looks like I have full permissions.
It would be ok if I got access on my machine as I could then see what was added since last weekend, and then add them in myself to the version
backed up last weekend.
Go to the top of the page
 
FrankRuperto
post Jun 4 2020, 06:28 PM
Post#6



Posts: 1,099
Joined: 21-September 14
From: Tampa, Florida USA


Did you press the "Unblock" button in File Properties?.... Also go to the Trust Center and check Trusted Locations.

--------------------
Currently supporting pawnbrokers that use my store management system developed with Access 2010 on Windows7. Experienced with Informix, Oracle & PostgreSQL db's.
Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post Jun 5 2020, 05:18 AM
Post#7


UtterAccess Moderator
Posts: 13,007
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


Hi,

Also check the user has 'Write' permissions to the network folder in which the BE is located.

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 
45Player
post Jun 5 2020, 06:12 AM
Post#8



Posts: 154
Joined: 18-June 04



Yes, I did the unblock.
The user has write permissions to that folder
He restored to the backups and it's working fine now.
Thanks for the help.
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    7th July 2020 - 02:13 AM