UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sharepoint List Displaying Limited Records, Access 2016    
 
   
AnthonyMA
post Jun 8 2020, 05:13 AM
Post#1



Posts: 219
Joined: 15-October 10
From: London, UK


Because we've been in lockdown since the end of March, I have not looked at our school database until today. I notice that the SharePoint list a) only contains 500 records, and b) is displaying data that relates to last year. The most up-to-date data is in SharePoint because, when I go there, I can see it when I search for all records above a particular ID. It's the 500 figure in the Access list that suggests to me something has happened since the end of March to limit the displayed records to this particular subset. I've created a view within SharePoint that provides me with the data I need but I can't see how to persuade Access to use it. Right-clicking on the list in Access brings up a "Modify columns and settings option" but all that does is take me to SharePoint with no indication there how to persuade Access to use the view that works. Anyone been here?

TVM

--------------------
With best wishes - Anthony
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jun 8 2020, 08:14 AM
Post#2


UA Moderator
Posts: 78,500
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. In Access, got ti External Data tab and click on New Data Source to create a new linked table from SharePoint.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
AnthonyMA
post Jun 8 2020, 08:19 AM
Post#3



Posts: 219
Joined: 15-October 10
From: London, UK


Thanks for the reply. The problem is not with linking to the list; it's that the resulting table is currently (always used to work properly) only displaying 500 out-of-date records, and I can't see what is necessary to update what is displayed to include all current records.

--------------------
With best wishes - Anthony
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jun 8 2020, 08:23 AM
Post#4


UA Moderator
Posts: 78,500
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Okay, just as a test though, since you created a new view in SP, what do you see in Access if you create a new link to that new view? Is it also limited?

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jun 8 2020, 08:44 AM
Post#5


UA Admin
Posts: 37,517
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


It's often been my experience that trying different suggestions--not dismissing them out of hand--tends to be more effective in identifying otherwise mysterious seeming problems.

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
AnthonyMA
post Jun 8 2020, 08:47 AM
Post#6



Posts: 219
Joined: 15-October 10
From: London, UK


The trouble is that you don't get an option to select a view, and deleting the link and re-adding it doesn't make a difference

--------------------
With best wishes - Anthony
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jun 8 2020, 09:03 AM
Post#7


UA Admin
Posts: 37,517
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


That leads to the question as to whether the link is actually being made to the correct SharePoint List?

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
AnthonyMA
post Jun 8 2020, 09:10 AM
Post#8



Posts: 219
Joined: 15-October 10
From: London, UK


After much experimentation with Excel (which works), and a new DB (which also works), I discovered that all that was required was a compact and repair. Thanks so much to both of you for helping my thought processes.

--------------------
With best wishes - Anthony
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jun 8 2020, 09:22 AM
Post#9


UA Admin
Posts: 37,517
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Congratulations on solving the problem.

Continued success with your project.

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jun 8 2020, 09:44 AM
Post#10


UA Moderator
Posts: 78,500
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. Glad to hear you got it sorted out. Cheers!

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    14th July 2020 - 11:34 AM