UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Custom Ribbons In Access Runtime, Any Version    
 
   
DaveK782
post Oct 17 2019, 07:08 AM
Post#1



Posts: 11
Joined: 29-March 12



Hi All,

I'm new to custom ribbons & have what I hope is a simple question.

If I create a custom ribbon in my database, will it be seen when the DB is run on another machine that only has Access runtime?

I create a database for work on my own laptop (running access 2016) & then distribute the front ends on work PCs that only have runtime.

Thanks in advance

David
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Oct 17 2019, 07:28 AM
Post#2


UA Admin
Posts: 36,171
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


The XML for custom ribbons is stored in a table in the accdb or accde, so no worries. It will be available whenever and however that accdb or accde is run.

Attached File  ribbontable.png ( 43.63K )Number of downloads: 13

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 17 2019, 12:03 PM
Post#3


UA Moderator
Posts: 76,819
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi David. As George said, if the custom ribbon runs in full version, it should also run in the runtime version, provided the actions it's designed to do are allowed in a runtime environment.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
DaveK782
post Oct 23 2019, 07:10 AM
Post#4



Posts: 11
Joined: 29-March 12



Thanks for the info
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Oct 23 2019, 11:48 AM
Post#5


UA Admin
Posts: 36,171
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Good point there. If the ribbon has actions that would not be available at run time, they won't work. I don't know if they would also raise an error.

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    6th December 2019 - 07:22 PM