UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Write Conflict Message, Access 2010    
 
   
ClaudioHenriques
post Aug 5 2019, 01:27 PM
Post#1



Posts: 101
Joined: 9-August 16



I have network accde that is always displaying the error: "Write conflict: Record has been changed by another user"

My settings:
- Access Options / Client Configuration / Advanced:
default aperture mode: shared
Default record protection: no protection

other settings:

OLE / DDE Timeout = 30
Update Range: 60
Number of update attempts: 2
ODBC refresh interval: 1,500
Refresh Interval: 250

DDE Operations:
Enable DDE Update

In Form:

Data / Registry Protection: No Protection
Recordset Type: Dynaset



I have read in some forums that if I have a self-numbering field in my table (which is the case) I have to change: Recordset Type: Dynaset to Dynaset (Inconsistent Updates).
Proceed?

Thanks all
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Aug 5 2019, 01:31 PM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,311
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. I would advice against using an Inconsistent Updates recordset, but you can proceed at your own risk. Instead, I would suggest making sure you have a good recordsource structure.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
PhilS
post Aug 6 2019, 02:57 AM
Post#3



Posts: 615
Joined: 26-May 15
From: The middle of Germany


QUOTE
I have network accde that is always displaying the error: "Write conflict: Record has been changed by another user"

Is the backend an Access database or is it an server-based database connected via ODBC?

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
ClaudioHenriques
post Aug 6 2019, 09:27 AM
Post#4



Posts: 101
Joined: 9-August 16



Thanks theDBguy... this designation of inconsistent that scares!

PhilS:

the backend database is access accdb.

There are 150 users who have Frontend on their machines.
The backend is on the network. This error is not constant.


I thought maybe the configuration of my files / forms might be incomplete.
Go to the top of the page
 
PhilS
post Aug 6 2019, 10:39 AM
Post#5



Posts: 615
Joined: 26-May 15
From: The middle of Germany


With an Access DB this error message is rather unusual, except when the record was actually modified by someone else. - I would recommend to check the logic of your application if this can actually happen.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    19th September 2019 - 01:45 AM