UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Used By Another User, Access 2016    
 
   
alorenzini
post Aug 9 2019, 09:52 AM
Post#1



Posts: 813
Joined: 21-September 07
From: South Dakota


I have an Access front end and a SQL Server backend. THe front end is on about 10 other desktops including mine. When I run the application on my machine it works just find I can add and edit records. But when some one else starts the application, it throws an error (I have attached both of them). Basically it is saying that the record cannot be saved because it is being used by another user, which it is not. I have another user that the application works just fine too. This even happens when there is only one person with the application open. I am kind of leaning towards some sort of account level security issue but don't know. I checked the logins on the SQL Server and they all have identical permissions.


Attached File(s)
Attached File  2019_08_09_09_41_39_.png ( 95.19K )Number of downloads: 0
Attached File  2019_08_09_09_41_58_.png ( 72.71K )Number of downloads: 2
 

--------------------
Thanks

Art Lorenzini
Sioux Falls, SD
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Aug 9 2019, 10:53 AM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,317
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi Art. This error also comes up if you make a manual change to a record while at the same time it is also getting updated by code. Do you know if this is the case with your db?

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
HansUp
post Aug 9 2019, 10:53 AM
Post#3



Posts: 53
Joined: 19-September 14
From: Colorado USA


Check whether the problem is eliminated if you add a timestamp (rowversion) field to the SQL Server table.
Go to the top of the page
 
alorenzini
post Aug 9 2019, 11:24 AM
Post#4



Posts: 813
Joined: 21-September 07
From: South Dakota


No the code does not update the record.

--------------------
Thanks

Art Lorenzini
Sioux Falls, SD
Go to the top of the page
 
alorenzini
post Aug 9 2019, 11:25 AM
Post#5



Posts: 813
Joined: 21-September 07
From: South Dakota


All tables have a datetime field with a default of now. It is updated every time the record is changed.

--------------------
Thanks

Art Lorenzini
Sioux Falls, SD
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Aug 9 2019, 02:15 PM
Post#6


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,609
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


Does the SQL table contain a Boolean field with no default value?
If so, trying to update the table will create a write conflict error where the field value is null.
This is because Access cannot handle nulls in Boolean fields where SQL Server can do so.

The solution is to change all boolean nulls to e.g. False then set the default to false.
Do that for each Boolean field in each linked table to prevent issues in future.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
alorenzini
post Aug 12 2019, 11:33 AM
Post#7



Posts: 813
Joined: 21-September 07
From: South Dakota


That was exactly the problem. Thank you.

--------------------
Thanks

Art Lorenzini
Sioux Falls, SD
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Aug 12 2019, 02:02 PM
Post#8


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,609
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


Hi
You're welcome.
I had exactly the same problem over 10 years ago. It took me ages to identify the cause but I've never had the problem since applying that fix.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
alorenzini
post Aug 12 2019, 02:33 PM
Post#9



Posts: 813
Joined: 21-September 07
From: South Dakota


I wonder if there is an app that can list the default properties of all the tables in a database. I had to go through more than 75 tables to find the culprit.

--------------------
Thanks

Art Lorenzini
Sioux Falls, SD
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Aug 12 2019, 02:48 PM
Post#10


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,317
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi Art.

QUOTE (art)
I wonder if there is an app that can list the default properties of all the tables in a database. I had to go through more than 75 tables to find the culprit.

See if this helps...

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Aug 12 2019, 02:51 PM
Post#11


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,609
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


You can also use the built-in Access database documenter for this purpose.
However surely you could have checked the tables in use when the error occurred.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    21st September 2019 - 06:51 PM