UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Disable/enable F11, Access 2016    
 
   
nuclear_nick
post Sep 5 2019, 09:32 AM
Post#1



Posts: 1,789
Joined: 5-February 06
From: Ohio, USA


Have had a few users email me saying that when they hit F11 now, nothing happens.

Nothing has been changed in the database since they complained about the issue.

The navigation pane is off when database is first opened. I was able to press F11 to view the navigation pane. So have a few other people. So it appears that it works for some, or most, but not all.

I combed through all the modules (even form modules), and found nothing that would affect this, either.

So my question... is it possible that the user has something else on their machine, like a registry key or something is what I was thinking, that prevents a user from not being able to press F11?

--------------------
"Nuclear" Nick
____________
The top three reasons to hide code; 1) It's not your own. 2) It's your own, but it's so crappy you don't want anyone to see it. 3) The comments in your code would get you in a lot of trouble if ever made public.
Go to the top of the page
 
arnelgp
post Sep 5 2019, 09:36 AM
Post#2



Posts: 1,474
Joined: 2-April 09
From: somewhere out there...


on Option->Current database
Tick on Use Access Special Keys.

--------------------
Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching.
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Sep 5 2019, 09:50 AM
Post#3


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,405
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi Nick. If it's only happening to some users but not all, even after you give them a fresh copy of your frontend, then it sounds like it might be something to do with their computer, or their Access installation. Just a thought...

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
nuclear_nick
post Sep 5 2019, 09:50 AM
Post#4



Posts: 1,789
Joined: 5-February 06
From: Ohio, USA


Please read the OP.

Thank you.

--------------------
"Nuclear" Nick
____________
The top three reasons to hide code; 1) It's not your own. 2) It's your own, but it's so crappy you don't want anyone to see it. 3) The comments in your code would get you in a lot of trouble if ever made public.
Go to the top of the page
 
nuclear_nick
post Sep 5 2019, 09:51 AM
Post#5



Posts: 1,789
Joined: 5-February 06
From: Ohio, USA


Thanks DBG.

That's what I was thinking, that it was something with their installation. I sent them another FE to test, and if it still persists for them, I'll direct them to our 'desktop support' department.

Crossing my fingers...

--------------------
"Nuclear" Nick
____________
The top three reasons to hide code; 1) It's not your own. 2) It's your own, but it's so crappy you don't want anyone to see it. 3) The comments in your code would get you in a lot of trouble if ever made public.
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Sep 5 2019, 09:54 AM
Post#6


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,405
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Good luck and let us know how it goes.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
nuclear_nick
post Sep 5 2019, 12:19 PM
Post#7



Posts: 1,789
Joined: 5-February 06
From: Ohio, USA


Had just a simple, new, simple db, just a few tables in it, and I unchecked the 'nav pane', but was able to use F11.

And again, I was able to utilize F11, along with a few co-workers I had test it, yet a few end-users could not.

They have been referred to our 'desktop support' team. Let them have all the fun. I doubt I'll hear the answer... probably just "it's fixed... thanks".

<sigh>

--------------------
"Nuclear" Nick
____________
The top three reasons to hide code; 1) It's not your own. 2) It's your own, but it's so crappy you don't want anyone to see it. 3) The comments in your code would get you in a lot of trouble if ever made public.
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Sep 5 2019, 12:22 PM
Post#8


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,405
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Oh, well. Does it only affect Access? I wonder...

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
nuclear_nick
post Sep 5 2019, 12:44 PM
Post#9



Posts: 1,789
Joined: 5-February 06
From: Ohio, USA


Sorry for the moment I could not investigate further... we're down two people right now, I don't have the time to dig more into it.

Maybe next time.

--------------------
"Nuclear" Nick
____________
The top three reasons to hide code; 1) It's not your own. 2) It's your own, but it's so crappy you don't want anyone to see it. 3) The comments in your code would get you in a lot of trouble if ever made public.
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Sep 5 2019, 12:46 PM
Post#10


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,405
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


It's okay. Maybe we'll find out later. Cheers!

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    20th October 2019 - 08:58 AM