UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Convert A2003 Db To A2016 Db, Access 2016    
 
   
tina t
post Jun 14 2019, 08:36 PM
Post#1



Posts: 5,991
Joined: 11-November 10
From: SoCal, USA


hi folks, i have over 130 A2003 dbs that i need to convert to A2016. is there a way to do that using VBA? i mean, i can open each A2003 db in A2016 and Save As to a .accdb - but, geez, over 130 times?

none of the dbs are password protected at this time. hmm, which brings me to another point: after i get the dbs converted, one way or the other, i need to re-add a database password to many of them. any way to do that programmatically?

does anybody know if it's possible to automate either or both tasks above, and have any idea how? suggestions, links to websites, articles, i'd be very grateful for any help. even a definite "it's not possible" for either/both tasks would help; at least i could stop digging and start slogging.

tia,
tina

--------------------
"the wheel never stops turning"
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jun 14 2019, 09:59 PM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 75,729
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi Tina. I think it's possible. I know you can apply a password to an external database using VBA. You can also create a new database container using VBA. This technique is demonstrated in my TempDB demo. If you need a copy of it, let me know. I don't think the download is working right now on my website. So, I don't know if you can "convert" a MDB to a ACCDB using code, but I was thinking you can create a ACCDB container and then export all MDB objects into it, using VBA. If you need help with this, you know how to find me. Good luck!

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
Phil_cattivocara...
post Jun 14 2019, 11:46 PM
Post#3



Posts: 305
Joined: 2-April 18



QUOTE (tina t)
i have over 130 A2003 dbs that i need to convert to A2016. is there a way to do that using VBA?
What about Application.ConvertAccessProject method (Access)?
For password protection I do not know.

--------------------
Please forgive in advance my horrible English.
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Jun 15 2019, 01:16 AM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,459
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


Tina
I would expect the time needed to save each as ACCDB and add a password is likely to be small compared to the time required to do other related modifications.
I would suggest just getting on with the hard slog.
At least you can do the conversion in one step...unlike changing from say A97.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
tina t
post Jun 15 2019, 12:46 PM
Post#5



Posts: 5,991
Joined: 11-November 10
From: SoCal, USA


thanks to everyone who responded, i appreciate your time and suggestions! :)

@DBguy
QUOTE
I know you can apply a password to an external database using VBA. You can also create a new database container using VBA. This technique is demonstrated in my TempDB demo. If you need a copy of it, let me know.

if you could post the demo in this thread, hon, that would be great!

tia
tina

--------------------
"the wheel never stops turning"
Go to the top of the page
 
tina t
post Jun 15 2019, 01:02 PM
Post#6



Posts: 5,991
Joined: 11-November 10
From: SoCal, USA


i have a related question, for anyone who's game.

QUOTE
<1. Is it a simple matter to convert the FE and BE to Access 2016?>

Since you are already using Access 2007, I'll assume your dbs are using the accdb file format, thus there is no conversion to perform. Once you open your db in the newer version, Access will automatically change the references, make changes to the file as required, etc but you have nothing to do.

the above is from a post by Daniel Pineault, in this UA thread.

in manually converting some of my A2003 dbs to .accdb using A2016, i've found that the SaveAs option simply offers "A2007 - A2016", without any option to pick a specific .accdb version. when i go ahead and save, i get the following msg saying the new db is A2007 format.

Attached File  ConversionMsg.PNG ( 8.18K )Number of downloads: 1


what i'm getting from this is that there is no way to actually convert to A2016 specifically. if anybody has any comments, corrections, etc on this subject, i'd appreciate all feedback.

tia
tina

--------------------
"the wheel never stops turning"
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jun 15 2019, 01:07 PM
Post#7


UA Admin
Posts: 35,318
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


I think you may be unduly concerned regarding the resulting accdb.


Attached File  AccdbVersiontype.jpg ( 125.29K )Number of downloads: 8

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jun 15 2019, 01:17 PM
Post#8


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 75,729
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


QUOTE
if you could post the demo in this thread, hon, that would be great!
Here you go...

Attached File(s)
Attached File  theDBguyTempDbDemoV1.0.zip ( 60.01K )Number of downloads: 7
 

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Jun 15 2019, 02:45 PM
Post#9


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,459
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


The ACCDB file format hasn't changed since A2007.
There are individual features that have been added since then e.g. support for bigint datatype and 'modern' charts in A365/2019
Other features have been dropped e.g. pivot charts deprecated in A2013

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
tina t
post Jun 15 2019, 03:21 PM
Post#10



Posts: 5,991
Joined: 11-November 10
From: SoCal, USA


thanks to everyone who responded to my A2007 - A2016 version question, it's a big relief to me. we (that is to say, mainly i) have about six weeks to convert these 130+ dbs, and the dozen or so FE dbs that use many of them, to .accdb format, and get them up and running for the 150 or so employees that use them, some from time to time, and some everyday all day. i'm under a lot of pressure from my manager and the IT manager. so it's good to know that i'm on the right track so far.

i'll probably be starting more threads with pleas for help, ideas, etc. as i plow through this project. i'm so glad that UA is here, i can't tell you. :) tina

--------------------
"the wheel never stops turning"
Go to the top of the page
 
tina t
post Jun 15 2019, 03:24 PM
Post#11



Posts: 5,991
Joined: 11-November 10
From: SoCal, USA


thanks for the demo, DBguy! i'll post back if i have questions. :) tina

--------------------
"the wheel never stops turning"
Go to the top of the page
 
tina t
post Jun 15 2019, 05:32 PM
Post#12



Posts: 5,991
Joined: 11-November 10
From: SoCal, USA


QUOTE
after i get the dbs converted, one way or the other, i need to re-add a database password to many of them. any way to do that programmatically?

fyi, for anyone it might help: i found code on Daniel Pineault's website to unset/set/reset db passwords using VBA. if you want to unset or reset a password, you must know the current password - we're not hacking dbs here! it's just a way to do it very quickly as opposed to manually. thank you, Daniel, and everyone else! :) tina

--------------------
"the wheel never stops turning"
Go to the top of the page
 
gemmathehusky
post Jun 15 2019, 05:58 PM
Post#13


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 4,725
Joined: 5-June 07
From: UK


@Tina.

I don't understand why you need to change them, until you actually need to include some newer facilities. A2003 will run fine under A365. Do you HAVE to do this?

--------------------
Dave (Male)

(Gemma was my dog)
Go to the top of the page
 
tina t
post Jun 17 2019, 02:18 PM
Post#14



Posts: 5,991
Joined: 11-November 10
From: SoCal, USA


it's IT's decision, Dave. i'm just the workhorse. tina

--------------------
"the wheel never stops turning"
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    21st July 2019 - 08:19 PM