UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Http 503 Error, Access 2013 Web App    
 
   
ryan996
post Feb 2 2018, 10:12 PM
Post#1



Posts: 93
Joined: 16-June 13



Anyone else getting a Http 503 error when trying to back up their AWA on O365?
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Feb 3 2018, 11:18 AM
Post#2


UA Admin
Posts: 35,886
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


For better or worse, I've pretty much moved every AWA I had off to other platforms, so no, no recent experience

However, if you could identify the reason associated with that error code, it might give a better clue.

I wonder if you are running out of resources? A few years ago when I was still heavily into AWAs, I recall a point at which I couldn't add new AWAs, or do much with them because the Recycle Bin(s) were full and not emptied and there was just not enough space left to do anything. I emptied both the regular RB and the secondary RB, deleted a few things I no longer wanted, re-emptied the RBs and that cleared up the problem. That may not be relevant, but it's worth checking into.
Go to the top of the page
 
ryan996
post Feb 4 2018, 11:56 PM
Post#3



Posts: 93
Joined: 16-June 13



I take a snapshot every month so I, fortunately, have a back up from a month ago. We're about to deploy this month's snapshot to an on-premise SP site, and it's the first time I'm running into this type of error. (Murphy's law in full effect here). I've contacted technical support. We'll see how it goes.

PS. All my recycle bins are clean.
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Feb 5 2018, 09:51 AM
Post#4


UA Admin
Posts: 35,886
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


The other thing I did see was that deleting random apps that I'd created as tests, experiments, etc. also seemed to help, but that may be totally unrelated.
Go to the top of the page
 
ryan996
post Mar 6 2018, 02:37 AM
Post#5



Posts: 93
Joined: 16-June 13



The solution was to delete the cache files in the local Access directory.
Go to the top of the page
 
RobKoelmans
post Mar 6 2018, 03:42 AM
Post#6



Posts: 489
Joined: 25-November 14
From: Groningen, Netherlands


Hi Ryan,
What did you mean with recycle bins if not the cache? Is that something I'm not aware of or did you mean your Windows Desktop recycle bin?
Kind regards,
Rob
Go to the top of the page
 
ryan996
post Mar 6 2018, 05:08 AM
Post#7



Posts: 93
Joined: 16-June 13



Hi Rob,

Often times, there are issues communicating between the Access client designer and the server hosting the AWA. In my case, the issue would cause a 503 error or "problem communicating with the server" error, despite having updated the timeout values in the registry. The solution was to clear the cache in the following folder:

c:/users/<username>/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Access/DatabaseCache


Go to the top of the page
 
RobKoelmans
post Mar 6 2018, 05:45 AM
Post#8



Posts: 489
Joined: 25-November 14
From: Groningen, Netherlands


Ok, thanks. That's the one I also know. So, no other directories that I should no of in case of issues with AWA.
Kind regards,
Rob
Go to the top of the page
 
ryan996
post Mar 6 2018, 06:20 AM
Post#9



Posts: 93
Joined: 16-June 13



Update your registry values if you haven't done so:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Access\Settings]

"AccAppObjectOperationsTimeout"=dword:12000000
"AccWebSaveAsPackageTimeout"=dword:12000000
"AccAppHydrateOperationsTimeout"=dword:12000000
"AccAppCreateImportTimeout"=dword:12000000

Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    19th October 2019 - 12:21 AM