UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pre-populated Fields On Subform Don't Populate Main Form, Access 2016    

AndyKP
post Dec 5 2019, 02:53 PM
Post#1

Hi all. This is my first time posting so please bear with me as I am NOT a programmer. (I work at a ballet company!). I created an MS Access database to manage all of the community education and outreach events that we do. I initially created 2 tables: EventsTbl (which houses info about dates, times, locations, catchments, notes, status, etc.) for our events. PK is EventID. And I created a VenuesTbl (which houses info for each venue we contact: name, address, etc.). PK is VenueID. There is a one-to-many relationship between VenueID and Event ID>

I created a form to input info into the EventsTbl. This form includes a VenueID combo box. I created a sub-form (subfrm_Venues Location Info) so that when I choose a VenueID, the subform pre-populates the street name, city, postal code, country, etc. Which it does. My BIG problem is that the location info that pre-populates the subForm does not get populated into the main table, EventsTbl. Is there a way to pull the location info into the EventsTbl via the VenueID or by the pre-popped subForm? It's really messing with my Events in Location query I'm trying to build. Thanks in advance for any help.
Go to the top of the page

theDBguy
post Dec 5 2019, 02:57 PM
Post#2

UA Moderator

Hi. Welcome to UtterAccess! welcome2UA.gif

You may not have your tables set up properly. For example, it sounds like one event can have multiple venues, correct? However, can one venue hold multiple/different events as well? If so, you'll need a third table for that.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email

GroverParkGeorge