UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Vba Code Autocomplete Disappearing, Access 2016    
 
   
ohiogto1969
post Oct 21 2019, 11:41 AM
Post#1



Posts: 150
Joined: 8-March 13



Greetings Gurus,

I am having an issue, I tried to google it but for the life of me I couldn't get a good search result.

When I am in a forms module and start typing to reference a control. Let's use a combo box for example.

I start by typing "Me.cb" or even "Me.C" and for a brief moment the drop down shows up and will list every

control that starts with those letters. After a second the dropdown disappears and I am left to remember

the control I wanted to work with ugh. Is this a proverbial "feature" that has been turned on or I am the

only one this happens to? I would really like a solution. It is not the end of the world but sure is a pain.

Thanks for looking,

John
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 21 2019, 11:44 AM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,548
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi John. First, let's make sure you don't have any Form Timer actively firing in the background. So, try closing any open form and then go back to the code window and try again.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
ohiogto1969
post Oct 21 2019, 12:02 PM
Post#3



Posts: 150
Joined: 8-March 13



Hmm you must have something there. I closed the other open form and now it works fine. This gives me something to work with. I guess I should have paid attention to the form names that were opened while I was editing. Any recommendations? Thank You
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 21 2019, 12:15 PM
Post#4


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,548
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi John. Form Timers take over the machine/Access when they fire, so you could temporarily turn them off while developing. Good luck!

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
ohiogto1969
post Oct 21 2019, 12:18 PM
Post#5



Posts: 150
Joined: 8-March 13



Thanks with your help I will track down the culprit. It was driving me pullhair.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 21 2019, 12:19 PM
Post#6


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,548
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


You're welcome. Happy hunting!

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    15th November 2019 - 05:48 AM