UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Error Mde Executing, Access 2010    
 
   
ClaudioHenriques
post Mar 28 2019, 08:29 AM
Post#1



Posts: 101
Joined: 9-August 16



We have here an application with extension 'MDE' developed in MS Access 97 that the person who developed it and the source mdb are no longer here. When running with the MS Access 2010 runtime (installed on our workstations) it generates a non- Finding a table that will be updated.
In this update this table exists ... Can it be conflict versions 97 x 2010 (runtime) does anyone know anything about it?

thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Mar 28 2019, 09:41 AM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,375
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. Don't know anything about it but you might start thinking about recovering your MDB in case the situation gets worse.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
AlbertKallal
post Mar 28 2019, 08:58 PM
Post#3


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 2,845
Joined: 12-April 07
From: Edmonton, Alberta Canada


Hum, I can't remember, but 2010 is quite happy with 2000, 2002, 2003 "mde". And 2007? Well it started the accDE format.

I can't remember, but I don't think the 2010 runtime can consume a access 97 mde. Certainly a 2000 or later, but a97 could be a problem.

Can you find/try the 2007 runtime, or better yet a 2003 runtime?

I never run a97 with 2010 runtime. I certainly see it run 2000 or later but a real access 97 mde I think may be the issue here.

Do you have a older runtime to try? You likely can get the a97 runtime to install, but you have to turn off UAC, and install as a admin.

a97 is now a whopping 22 years old. So that goes back to the time of steam ships, the telegraph, and horse drawn carriages.

The best bet would be using a 2003 runtime, but 2010 I don't think was able to consume a97 formats.

Regards,
Albert D. Kallal (Access MVP 2003-2017)
Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Mar 29 2019, 05:32 AM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,680
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


Carrying on from Albert's comments....

You can certainly open A97 MDB files in A2010.
However, the file format in early versions of Access changed so much with each update that MDEs were VERY version specific

As a test I created an A97 MDE and tried unsuccessfully to open in in A2010 (full version)
Whether I tried to open it unconverted or convert to a later version, I got the message:
QUOTE
You can't convert or enable an MDE file


I then tried again using A2007, A2003 and finally A2000.
I had expected it to work in A2000 but got exactly the same message EACH time.

Finally I tried a utility that can partly unlock MDE files and allow you to edit the forms & reports.
It has been a lifesaver on a few A2003 files but in this case at first all it did was corrupt the file!
As I kept a backup, I tried again
At the THIRD attempt, it worked and I had a fully functioning ACCDB file
However it was a very simple MDE file and the same process may not work in your case

So I think you have very limited options:
a) pay for a specialist company to reverse engineer the file to MDB then upgrade it to a later version
b) export tables & queries to a new database then rebuild the forms/reports & module code
This post has been edited by isladogs: Mar 29 2019, 05:40 AM

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
ClaudioHenriques
post Mar 29 2019, 02:01 PM
Post#5



Posts: 101
Joined: 9-August 16



Thanks everyone for the attention, I'll think about it
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    14th October 2019 - 05:34 AM