UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Access On Windows 10 In S Mode, Access 2016    
 
   
Wedge
post Aug 9 2018, 02:54 PM
Post#1



Posts: 170
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Yorkshire Dales, England


I sit possible to run Access runtime on Windows 10 in S mode? I know you can download the full Access from the Windows Store but I am guessing that as you cannot download runtime from the store this won't work. It would be fantastic if I could run Access applications with runtime in S mode.
Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Aug 9 2018, 03:34 PM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,208
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


Hi: No expert in this area, but I just looked at the Windows Store - and found Access Runtime 2016 download there. I didn't try to download it, but is this what you are looking for? Was there some problem downloading or using it?

You were talking about Windows 10 S, right, rather than ... in S mode?

HTH
Joe
Go to the top of the page
 
Wedge
post Aug 12 2018, 01:57 PM
Post#3



Posts: 170
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Yorkshire Dales, England


Yes that is what I was looking for. I couldn't find it. I am in the UK - not sure why that should make a difference though. Do you have a screen shot?

AFAIK Windows 10 in S mode is the same thing as Windows 10 S other than you need to upgrade Windows 10 S to standard Windows and S mode is standard Windows 10 running in - well - S mode.
This post has been edited by Wedge: Aug 12 2018, 01:58 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Aug 12 2018, 02:23 PM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,208
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


Not exactly sure how I got to Access Runtime when searching for Microsoft (or Windows) Store before, but HERE is what I just found. See if this works for you in Windows 10 S.

As I said, I am no expert in this area and do not use Windows 10 S - I was just poking around to see what I could find.

HTH
Joe
Go to the top of the page
 
Wedge
post Aug 20 2018, 08:53 AM
Post#5



Posts: 170
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Yorkshire Dales, England


Ah. That's just the standard web link. Note - I don't have Windows 10 S I am just enquiring to see if there is a version of runtime downloadable from the Windows Store. Windows 10 in S mode ONLY runs apps from the Windows Store. I am interested as it would perhaps make for a more secure client distribution. This is why I was interested in a link on the store rather than the MS website in general which is not the same as the Windows Store.
Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Aug 20 2018, 10:03 AM
Post#6


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,208
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


Well, I thought I had found it before - but cannot seem to repeat the search. So I am now at a loss.

Good luck with your search. Sorry I could not help more.

Regards,
Joe

Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Aug 20 2018, 06:57 PM
Post#7


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,208
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


I just took another look, for my own edification, and it looks to me like the Windows Store was rolled into the Microsoft Store. Did you find the same thing? Don't know how that affects 10 S apps.

Regards,
Joe
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Aug 20 2018, 07:45 PM
Post#8


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,221
Joined: 30-June 11



I passed the question along to the Access Dev. Team when I originally came across the question. Although they still haven't posted, I'm still hoping we'll get an official answer. Finger crossed.
Go to the top of the page
 
Wedge
post Aug 24 2018, 02:17 PM
Post#9



Posts: 170
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Yorkshire Dales, England


That would be great - thanks. It makes no sense to deploy MS access on the Microsoft Store without the runtime. Would be great if they did as it would mean I could make use of Windows 10 S for my clients.
Go to the top of the page
 
Wedge
post Aug 24 2018, 02:19 PM
Post#10



Posts: 170
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Yorkshire Dales, England


No - I cannot find the runtime on the Microsoft Store. If you do find it please send me a screenshot. You can get Access (see screenshot) but not the runtime.

Attached File  Capture.PNG ( 1.06MB )Number of downloads: 2
Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Aug 24 2018, 02:54 PM
Post#11


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,208
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


Hi Sam: Well, I went to the Microsoft Store and searched for Access Runtime 2016. It took me HERE to the download site. This is the official MS site, so my guess is that it might be what you are looking for. But, to my thinking, this is an empirical question - try it with Windows 10 S and see if it works. I don't know of any other way to verify that, and I can't find anything else from MS or anyone else on the subject. I don't have Windows 10 S, so cannot test it myself ...

Or just wait for Daniel's question to the Access team to be answered...

HTH
Joe
Go to the top of the page
 
Wedge
post Aug 24 2018, 05:28 PM
Post#12



Posts: 170
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Yorkshire Dales, England


Well just got my Surface Go so will give it a try - thank you. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Aug 24 2018, 05:34 PM
Post#13


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,208
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


thumbup.gif

Good luck. And let us know what you find out.

Joe
Go to the top of the page
 
Wedge
post Aug 27 2018, 03:52 PM
Post#14



Posts: 170
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Yorkshire Dales, England


I have to say the Surface Go is a brilliant tablet. I got the 128GB version. Great size - perfect for clients running my tablet Access applications! wink.gif The form factor is brilliant - smaller than the Surface Pro and powerful enough to run Access applications. It has a real quality feel to it - and I use iPads regularly (also to run Access apps through RDP).

Unfortunately Access runtime doesn't work on the device as it is not on the Microsoft Store. I can install full Access of course but that means purchasing a 365 sub or buying it outright as part of Office for £385 (ouch). If we could get MS to put runtime on the Store then this would be a truly brilliant device for Access apps. Windows 10S means less issues for us as it is far more locked down than standard Windows.

Please MS - if you could put runtime on the store that would be brilliant!

--------------------
Sam
Go to the top of the page
 
Wedge
post Aug 27 2018, 03:54 PM
Post#15



Posts: 170
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Yorkshire Dales, England


QUOTE
I passed the question along to the Access Dev. Team when I originally came across the question. Although they still haven't posted, I'm still hoping we'll get an official answer. Finger crossed.


Fingers still crossed. wink.gif

--------------------
Sam
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    20th November 2018 - 10:54 PM