UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Setting Up Db For Work Project - A Little Stuck, Access 2010    

MydnyteSyn
post May 21 2019, 01:52 PM
Post#1

Hello all!

I'm so glad I found this community! I'm very new to Access. I downloaded the Access 2010 for Dummies PDF, I bought the Access 2010 Bible, and I've been carefully reading and following along in those on how to use Access, but I am a little stuck.

One of my co-workers created this amazing dashboard in Excel that generates metrics my company uses daily as we work on a $2 billion dollar project. However, this excel dashboard contains way too much information and the managers do not have the time to sift through it to find the numbers they need. I've been tasked with simplifying things and I thought a database via Access would be the best way to go about this.

My database needs to accomplish the following:
  • Pull existing data from several sheets in the Excel workbook
  • Perform calculations to show totals on a month-to-month basis
  • Generate reports that are automatically emailed to a specific group of people (if this is possible)

I have attached a PDF of showing the tables I have created already, showing one of the relationships I need. I'm kind of stuck on how to set up the rest.

The other area I'm really stuck with concerns Hours. I need to show not only how many hours an employee worked, but also where that time was spent. For example:

Regular Hrs
Overtime Hrs
Out of Office hrs
Travel hrs
Admin hrs

Above being the typical work day hours a works. Below, showing the areas of a project where their workday hours were spent.

BAU
WR
Projects
Admin

And I need to know how to set up the rest of the relationships.

Any help is truly appreciated.

Thank you in advance!
This post has been edited by MydnyteSyn: May 21 2019, 01:53 PM
Attached File(s)