UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
2 Pages V < 1 2  (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Why Is A Backup Created After I Open And Close Database?, Access 2016    
 
   
compdinosaur
post Dec 19 2018, 12:56 PM
Post#21



Posts: 284
Joined: 29-August 07
From: Rockville, MD


yes, you are correct

--------------------
Barbara
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Dec 19 2018, 01:11 PM
Post#22


UA Admin
Posts: 35,888
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


That's the scary part of this problem. If you aren't aware of what is going on, and delete the "duplicate" thinking it was created after you close the accdb, you LOSE all of that work.

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Dec 19 2018, 01:11 PM
Post#23


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,703
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


From what George said earlier, I suggest you join the Office insiders scheme so you are able to get the 1812 update. I'm actually on the 1901 update via this method.
If that fixes your issue, you could then choose whether to turn off the insiders early updates again afterwards .
This post has been edited by isladogs: Dec 19 2018, 01:12 PM

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
compdinosaur
post Dec 19 2018, 01:21 PM
Post#24



Posts: 284
Joined: 29-August 07
From: Rockville, MD


I just downloaded WIN 10 ver 1809 to my desktop where I did not have the problem and I still do not have the problem. Does that mean that the problem is with the newer version of Access?

What do you suggest from here?

--------------------
Barbara
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Dec 19 2018, 01:34 PM
Post#25


UA Admin
Posts: 35,888
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


It's a combination of HOW you obtained the Access application and the Windows version. "... it requires Office from the Windows Store (not C2R)..."

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
compdinosaur
post Dec 19 2018, 02:13 PM
Post#26



Posts: 284
Joined: 29-August 07
From: Rockville, MD


I think that I lost my reply/question.

What is "CR2"?

The Windows version was pre-installed on my new Surface and updated at home via Windows update.
Office/Access are via my Home Office 365 subscription.

--------------------
Barbara
Go to the top of the page
 
compdinosaur
post Dec 19 2018, 02:14 PM
Post#27



Posts: 284
Joined: 29-August 07
From: Rockville, MD


oops, I mean I don't understand this:
QUOTE
it requires Office from the Windows Store (not C2R)..."

--------------------
Barbara
Go to the top of the page
 
compdinosaur
post Dec 20 2018, 03:55 PM
Post#28



Posts: 284
Joined: 29-August 07
From: Rockville, MD


The problem was partially due to my ignorance. The version of Access on my Surface was not my Office 365 version that I thought, but the "Microsoft Store" version that came on the computer. A Microsoft tech from India this morning uninstalled the "Store" version and installed the Office 365 suite using my Product Key that I had on file. Now my databases function on my new laptop as they did on the old one.

Thank you all for your insights and help.

--------------------
Barbara
Go to the top of the page
 
BruceM
post Dec 20 2018, 03:58 PM
Post#29


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 7,971
Joined: 24-May 10
From: Downeast Maine


Good job! We're all ignorant until the first time. Ideally the condition changes after that smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
2 Pages V < 1 2


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    20th October 2019 - 09:39 AM