UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
2 Pages V < 1 2  (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hidden But Not Hidden Table, Access 2013    
 
   
theDBguy
post Jan 15 2020, 02:49 PM
Post#21


UA Moderator
Posts: 77,304
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. I downloaded your file and tried to link to tblInvoice in Excel, and here's what I got.

I created a query and was able to see it in Excel.

Attached File  query.png ( 26.08K )Number of downloads: 3



Here's the result.

Attached File  excel.png ( 32.58K )Number of downloads: 1


--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
mchapa89
post Jan 15 2020, 03:02 PM
Post#22



Posts: 7
Joined: 14-January 20



Wow. I was able to do that now too. Let me try with my bigger data set now.


Attached File(s)
Attached File  Capture.JPG ( 159.65K )Number of downloads: 1
 
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Jan 15 2020, 03:07 PM
Post#23


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 2,088
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


I see things have moved on whilst I was testing...
This is what I wrote without seeing the above posts ....

It seems that A2016/365 is using the Get & Transform Data feature (AKA PowerQuery) to import/link Access tables
A2010 does it differently even though I have installed PowerQuery as an add-in

In either case, you must have at least one visible table for the Excel link table feature to function
Otherise (in A2010) you will see the message - the data source contains no visible tables - in A2016 nothing is shown

As tblInvoice is a system table, you need to create a query from it so you can import/link into Excel

Hope that helps clarify at least some of this confusion

--------------------
Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
Website, email
Go to the top of the page
 
mchapa89
post Jan 15 2020, 03:12 PM
Post#24



Posts: 7
Joined: 14-January 20



Creating a query from the table does solve the issue for my example. On the larger data set --the original back-end that connects to our admin front-end databases--however, creating a query still doesn't work. I can't see it as an option in Excel. Could it be because Owner: Engine vs. Admin?
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Engine.JPG ( 113.94K )Number of downloads: 3
 
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Jan 15 2020, 03:16 PM
Post#25


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 2,088
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


How did you make the owner as Engine?
If I understand you correctly, you can only link local tables/queries to the Excel file. Linked BE tables cannot be seen by Excel

Also why have you made all those error tables hidden or system - in fact why do you still have all of those?

--------------------
Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
Website, email
Go to the top of the page
 
2 Pages V < 1 2


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    20th January 2020 - 09:19 PM