UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Power Bi Can't Recall A Query With End And Start Date Parameter, Any version    
 
   
2ME
post Oct 31 2019, 12:49 PM
Post#1



Posts: 683
Joined: 13-May 10
From: Egypt


Hi,
I have a query where two dates parameter
When I try to get the data in power bi I don't have an option to view that query (the query doesn't appear among other tables and queries)
And if I removed the dates from where clause I can select the query within power bi
My question, is there any work around to get the query with two dates parameter within power bi?

Thanks in advance for your suggestion and help

--------------------

M.E.M
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Oct 31 2019, 01:04 PM
Post#2


UA Admin
Posts: 36,181
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


I doubt it. I think the best choice will be to do the filtering in Power BI.

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
2ME
post Oct 31 2019, 01:10 PM
Post#3



Posts: 683
Joined: 13-May 10
From: Egypt


How can I set the two dates parameters in power bi?

--------------------

M.E.M
Go to the top of the page
 
MadPiet
post Oct 31 2019, 01:19 PM
Post#4



Posts: 3,365
Joined: 27-February 09



Where is your data coming from? You can filter the data before you load it, or load the data from a query in the source.
if you don't just "Close & Load", you can filter the dataset before it imports it all.
Go to the top of the page
 
2ME
post Oct 31 2019, 01:40 PM
Post#5



Posts: 683
Joined: 13-May 10
From: Egypt


Hi MadPiet
The data comes from access query
"You can filter the data before you load it, or load the data from a query in the source."
I tried to open the query and used the filter before getting the data to power bi .. but the query wasn't there at all to select it

After removing the date parameter the query appeared to select it within power bi

--------------------

M.E.M
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Oct 31 2019, 01:47 PM
Post#6


UA Admin
Posts: 36,181
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


In the Power BI editing interface, load a project and then select the "Data" view for you data sources:

Attached File  DataviewPBI.png ( 991bytes )Number of downloads: 0


Select the query you want to filter.

Then apply parameters to it.

Attached File  ParamersPBI.png ( 12.25K )Number of downloads: 0


If you need dynamic filtering, you can add filters to the chart displaying the data:

Attached File  AddSlicer.png ( 16.33K )Number of downloads: 0


Attached File  FiltersinPowerBI.png ( 14.43K )Number of downloads: 0


Attached File  FilterSlicerPBI.png ( 9.76K )Number of downloads: 0


Attached File  FilterSlicerAppliedPBI.png ( 8.91K )Number of downloads: 0

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
2ME
post Oct 31 2019, 01:51 PM
Post#7



Posts: 683
Joined: 13-May 10
From: Egypt


GroverParkGeorge thank you very much for your help I will give it a try and come back to review the result
Thank you again

--------------------

M.E.M
Go to the top of the page
 
2ME
post Oct 31 2019, 02:35 PM
Post#8



Posts: 683
Joined: 13-May 10
From: Egypt


Hi MadPiet
"or load the data from a query in the source."
How can I do that?

--------------------

M.E.M
Go to the top of the page
 
MadPiet
post Oct 31 2019, 02:50 PM
Post#9



Posts: 3,365
Joined: 27-February 09



Oh, Guess you can't do that with Access as a source. You can with SQL Server. If you connect to a SQL Server DB, you have an advanced option where you can specify a query to run. (Or even just type in the SQL).
Go to the top of the page
 
2ME
post Oct 31 2019, 03:01 PM
Post#10



Posts: 683
Joined: 13-May 10
From: Egypt


What about creating a temp table and append the query after filter to the temp table?

--------------------

M.E.M
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Oct 31 2019, 03:23 PM
Post#11


UA Admin
Posts: 36,181
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


You could do that, but that means the process always starts on the Access side with the "flush and refill" of the temp table.

I am pretty sure, though, that you can apply your filters in Power BI itself against the table(s) and quer(ies) you need.


--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
2ME
post Nov 4 2019, 08:26 AM
Post#12



Posts: 683
Joined: 13-May 10
From: Egypt


GroverParkGeorge

Thank you very much for your help, I used slicer to filter against the queries and it works

thank you again

--------------------

M.E.M
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Nov 4 2019, 10:00 AM
Post#13


UA Admin
Posts: 36,181
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Congratulations on solving the problem.

Continued success with your project.

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    10th December 2019 - 07:06 PM