UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Custom Ribbon And The Runtime Environment., Access 2016    
 
   
DaveH
post Apr 29 2019, 07:58 AM
Post#1



Posts: 20
Joined: 1-May 18



I have a custom ribbon which replaces the standard, it’s loaded from the table UsysRibbon and at start-up set in the options > Current Database section. However it does not load at start up as another option called “What do you want to do today” and other items are displayed first, then after about three seconds the custom ribbon is finally displayed.

As I’ve tried hiding the apps window using API’s, minimising and then maximising the app and just about everything else (all of which made no difference), I suspect that the custom ribbon is not loaded until that app becomes visible, hence the delay. This never happened in 2010 only 2016.

I’ve tried disabling the menu bar but this does not work at all.

Surely this is the wrong behaviour for a Runtime environment.
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Apr 29 2019, 09:06 AM
Post#2


UA Admin
Posts: 35,546
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Perhaps you can suggest the MS Access team address this.

Note that this is a place where you can request new features or modifications. It's not a place for complaints or specific problems.

Please be as specific as possible in describing the problem and what you would like to see as a resolution of it.

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
DaveH
post Apr 29 2019, 10:26 AM
Post#3



Posts: 20
Joined: 1-May 18



This is not a complaint, it’s an observation that I assumed was a bug, however on further searches this seems as an intentional change made by Microsoft along with a host of other issues from 2013 onwards as they try and move everyone to their Office 365 subscription model.

What sort of enterprise would attempt to isolate a user base of developers going back 27 years in the hope of converting them to their accountant’s model by making things so much harder for developers?

The same thing happened with VB to Windows VB.NET and Windows Home Server, one the best products ever that MS released and then abandoned shortly thereafter.

Office 365 is a development environment not suited to Access as you don’t know what the next download or update is going to break, not to mention Windows itself, currently has broken many Access installations on servers (back end shares).
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Apr 29 2019, 11:43 AM
Post#4


UA Admin
Posts: 35,546
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


A lot of what you say about business strategy resonates powerfully. thumbup.gif

Still, it can't hurt to submit that as a request. It may not be implemented, but I promise members of the MS Access Development Team DO read and evaluate those suggestions.


--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
DaveH
post Apr 30 2019, 08:38 AM
Post#5



Posts: 20
Joined: 1-May 18



Well I posted this to the site as advised by GroverParkGeorge: - https://access.uservoice.com/

It seemed to instantly vanish...


Access 2016

Development Environment:

By default Access opens to a screen full of templates, surely it should default to the main Access Ribbon (“File, Home, Create, External Data, Database Tools, Tell me what you want to do”). It’s really annoying having to waste half a dozen mouse clicks to get to this Ribbon. The option is available in the rest of Office why not in Access?

Form/Report Design:

Attempting to acquire the edge of a form or report with the mouse in order to expand/contract it is almost impossible (with about 1mm active) yet the property sheet right next door has a decent (3mm) mouse trapping area.

General:

The Colourful and White options for Access are not compliant with the rest of Office and in addition do not conform to current Health & Safety regulations here in the UK as both options do not have enough contrast and provide a “washed out” screen where its sometimes difficult when multiple screens/forms are open to detect various attributes to them like the minimise/maximise and close choices. This results in users complaining of headaches and eye strain. Therefore I submit that Access is made compliant to the rest of Office with a choice of more contrast variations in its options. This issue could result in claims being made against employers but usually these don’t surface until a few years down the road.

Runtime:

Any custom Ribbon the developer has produced do not get loaded when the main Access environment loads, instead another menu with “What do you want to do today” and “File” is displayed then three seconds or so later the developers ribbon is displayed… why?
When installing an (Access) database back end on a share on some servers, the Windows environment decides that the database is corrupt or issues “Unrecognised Database Format” error message when it’s actually not corrupt or an “Unrecognised Database Format” error. This is I suspect a Windows 10 issue not an Office issue.

Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Apr 30 2019, 10:08 AM
Post#6


UA Admin
Posts: 35,546
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


I'm sorry that your experience with the User Voice wasn't up to your expectations. I just searched and find that no suggestion appears that seems to reflect your content.

A) Did you sign up/sign in?
B) Assuming that you did, what topic would you have used?

You'll find at least one of your complaints has been submitted as a suggestion, please go add your votes to it. Also your comments could be useful.

And, if you still experience problems signing in, please post back and I'll refer you to someone who might have some insight.

Above all, the health of the Access application depends on constructive criticism from users impacted by issues like those you raise.

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
AlbertKallal
post Apr 30 2019, 09:10 PM
Post#7


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 2,836
Joined: 12-April 07
From: Edmonton, Alberta Canada


Have you attempted to dump the use of the startup form setting, and use a autoexec macro?

That macro can call your sub in a standard code module.

Try this:

dovents
Docmd.OpenForm "MyMainStartupForm"

So, try using VBA to launch the application startup form, and shove in a doEvents before you launch the main form.

R
Albert
Go to the top of the page
 
DaveH
post May 1 2019, 07:32 AM
Post#8



Posts: 20
Joined: 1-May 18



Thanks for the reply Albert,

The main app does not have a start-up form but runs code from the Atoexec macro whilst the main app is hidden (using an API) or placed in the task bar (Minimised), the task bar is also hidden and I can use either of these processes before the main app is displayed. A pop-up form is used to display the boot-up progress to users but it has no code associated with it and is manipulated by the various functions running.

Depending if it’s the apps first ever boot-up, another form is then loaded so that users can enter the first record (an Address and a Person) then a hidden form is loaded which sets a permanent connection to the back end (if it’s on a server/share) and monitors the apps progress at set intervals of one minute, it also traps users closing the app and so on.

All the above run from the Autoexec macro.

To complicate things further the main app is password protected so it’s opened from a very small additional database that passes the password to the main app. It’s also responsible for automatically maintaining the front and back end databases to limit bloat as well as the Help database.

The issue I have since moving from Access 2010 (a mistake I suspect) is that Access 2016 does not enable/show the Ribbon until the main app becomes visible,

There are some peculiarities I’ve used when installing this app in that if the user already has Access 2016 then I don’t install the 2016 runtime on their machine. I’ve no idea if this makes any difference but I will try this next and let you know. Another reason for not installing the runtime on machines with Access 2016 installed is the crazy amount of Office updates it requires on Windows 10 and 7 without which I’ve experienced many security errors and crashes if the user immediately attempts to run the app before installing the updates and re-booting their machine. I had implemented installing the updates in code but it takes an age.
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    25th August 2019 - 05:14 PM