UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> SQL Data Updates, Any Versions    
 
   
meyert
post May 27 2020, 06:45 AM
Post#1



Posts: 157
Joined: 22-January 08



Hello again,

My contact in IT is out this week, so I have not been able to reach her. I can't even get started and I don't know if the problem is me, the SQL server or access. I bet someone here knows the answer

I started to build queries in the file and I found out that I am not able to update any data. I can't delete records add new records in or even change a value in an existing field

Is this a setting in Access? Or is there a trick with SQL that I don't know? or do you think the SQL link just is not set up to edit the data?
Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post May 27 2020, 07:05 AM
Post#2


UtterAccess Moderator
Posts: 13,024
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


Hi,

It sounds as if you are a read-only user, but just in case, please will you post an example of your INSERT and UPDATE queries (SQL).

Also, how are you executing the queries?



--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 
Jeff B.
post May 27 2020, 07:37 AM
Post#3


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 10,489
Joined: 30-April 10
From: Pacific NorthWet


I ran into a similar situation during a conversion from Access-only to Access-using-SQL-Server. Turned out the SQL DBA hadn't given me/the front-end the permissions in SQL needed to modify the SQL tables...

Good luck!

--------------------
Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP (2002-2015)

Mention of hardware or software is, in no way, an endorsement thereof. The FTC of the USA made this disclaimer necessary/possible.
Go to the top of the page
 
meyert
post May 27 2020, 08:01 AM
Post#4



Posts: 157
Joined: 22-January 08



thanks I will ask that question. Maybe the set up/link needs tweaked

Jeff B. - - I deleted my queries... but even if I go to the table direct and try to add a record, delete a record or just change a value in a field -- I can't do it
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post May 27 2020, 08:16 AM
Post#5


UA Admin
Posts: 37,487
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


When you link SQL Server tables to Access, you MUST identify the Primary Key for each table, or a unique qualifier for a view. If you don't do that, the tables are not updateable from Access.


--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
nvogel
post May 27 2020, 09:32 AM
Post#6



Posts: 1,121
Joined: 26-January 14
From: London, UK


Hi meyert,

Did you try your updates within SQL Server Management Studio first? Did you get a specific SQL Server error message? Management Studio is the best way to develop and test your SQL Server code. You can download it here if you don't already have it installed:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/SQL/ssms/d...ent-studio-ssms

Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    9th July 2020 - 01:30 PM