UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Create New Db In Oracle    
 
   
duggie
post Jul 30 2018, 07:42 AM
Post#1



Posts: 454
Joined: 14-October 12



Is it straightforward to create a new db in Oracle or are there many steps to go through?

My db already has some tables and I'm trying to start off from a clean slate, so would be good to create a new db, before adding new tables.
This post has been edited by duggie: Jul 30 2018, 07:54 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jul 30 2018, 07:49 AM
Post#2


UA Admin
Posts: 33,971
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Maybe something here will get you started in the right direction.
Go to the top of the page
 
duggie
post Jul 30 2018, 07:54 AM
Post#3



Posts: 454
Joined: 14-October 12



Thanks, saw that and had the shock of my life!

Go to the top of the page
 
PhilS
post Jul 30 2018, 08:15 AM
Post#4



Posts: 516
Joined: 26-May 15
From: The middle of Germany


QUOTE
Is it straightforward to create a new db in Oracle or are there many steps to go through?

No, unfortunately it is not. An Oracle database is a complete and isolated Oracle instance much like a Microsoft-SQL-Server instance. It even needs its own TCP/IP configuration.

Unless your database needs multiple schemas, it might be a sensible idea to use multiple different schemas instead of different databases. Schema isolation is much stronger by default on Oracle compared to Microsoft-SQL-Server, so an Oracle schema is roughly comparable to a SQL-Server database.
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    21st November 2018 - 03:00 PM