UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hi, Thanks For The Great Forum!    

Firepen
post Mar 31 2020, 11:16 AM
Post#1

Hi, I am a newbie, I've read the Wiley Access Bible and followed along with examples. Since starting my actual project I have run into a few headaches - so far I have solved them thanks to both the resources here and the process of actually writing out the question in a logical manner with the intention of asking you guys - I'm still early on and know i'm going to end up seeking assistance at some point so figured I'd say hi now.

If anyone wanted to (no need) what is the one thing you wish someone told or explained to you when you started up with Access?

Anyway, hope everyone is doing ok in this crazy times. On Lockdown here in the UK - Together Apart

Thanks All, Especially those who made and added to the forum
Go to the top of the page

RJD
post Mar 31 2020, 11:34 AM
Post#2

UtterAccess VIP

welcome2UA.gif

Hi Firepen: Glad to have you here with us. Lots of excellent folks here to provide assistance/guidance when you need it. And especially now, there seem to be lots of us spending more time here due to the COVID-19 isolation situation.

As to "...the one thing you wish someone told or explained to you when you started up with Access ..." you are sure to get lots of different answers to this - and not just one thing. Some of us used other RDBMSs for years before arriving at Access. Others started with Access. Others had other IT experience in general. But I think I would advise getting deep into good, normalized db design, SQL and VBA. Some folks tend to shy away from pure SQL and VBA early, and these are key to tapping the tremendous power of Access. Others are sure to have other/different responses to this question.