UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Runtime Error 3001, Invalid Argument, Access 2013    

Chuckinoz
post Jun 2 2020, 10:25 AM
Post#1

Hi People I am very new to VBA this is a piece of code I copied From a tutorial.

Private Sub txtEmployeeNumber_LostFocus()
Dim dbKoloBank As Database
Dim rstEmployees As Recordset

Set dbKoloBank = CurrentDb
Set rstEmployees = dbPracBudget.OpenRecordset("SELECT FirstName, MiddleName, LastName " & _
"FROM Employees " & _
"WHERE EmployeeNumber = '" & txtEmployeeNumber & "';", _
RecordsetTypeEnum.dbOpenDynamic, _
RecordsetOptionEnum.dbConsistent, _
LockTypeEnum.dbOptimistic)

If rstEmployees.RecordCount > 0 Then
If IsNull(rstEmployees!MiddleName) Then
txtEmployeeName = rstEmployees!FirstName & " " & rstEmployees!LastName
Else
txtEmployeeName = rstEmployees!FirstName & " " & rstEmployees!MiddleName & " " & rstEmployees!LastName
End If
End If

Set rstEmployees = Nothing
Set dbKoloBank = Nothing
End Sub

All txtBox names are correct, Employees recordset is from Employees Table and First middle and Last name references are spelt Correctly.
When I type Employee # into relative box and tab out I Get Runtime Error 3001, Invalid Argument.
This post has been edited by Chuckinoz: Jun 2 2020, 10:26 AM
Go to the top of the page

theDBguy
post Jun 2 2020, 10:47 AM
Post#2

UA Moderator

Hi. Welcome to UtterAccess!

welcome2UA.gif

When you get the error message, is there a button called Debug? If so, click on it and let us know which line in the code gets highlighted.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email

GroverParkGeorge
post Jun 2 2020, 10:49 AM
Post#3

UA Admin

Welcome to UtterAccess.