UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Phantom Control - Can't Find A Control On A Form, Access 2016    
 
   
InfoHound
post Feb 12 2019, 06:52 AM
Post#1



Posts: 1,119
Joined: 1-December 12



I can't find a control on my form named "Me.Purchase"

I've tried cycling through the form using the TAB key and error trapping code yet I still don't see the control.
Yet, when I type "?Me.Purchase" into the immediate window I get a return of 220.
Same result when I type "Me.Purchase.Value" into the immediate window.

I used to have a control named Me.Purchase but changed it to "currPurchase" which does not have a value of 220.

I'm not sure where to find this control or how it is getting the value of 220.

Time for a new computer?


Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post Feb 12 2019, 06:59 AM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 10,908
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


Do you have a field in the form's recordset called 'Purchase'?

If so, that is what you are accessing.

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 
InfoHound
post Feb 12 2019, 07:04 AM
Post#3



Posts: 1,119
Joined: 1-December 12



I do have a field called "Purchase" in the recordset, however, it has a value of "0".
Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post Feb 12 2019, 07:17 AM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 10,908
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


Perhaps try decompiling your db, then C&R, then compile again, and see if the issue persists.

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Feb 12 2019, 08:53 AM
Post#5


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 10,605
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


Did you look at the drop-down at the top of the Property Sheet?

--------------------
Robert Crouser
Go to the top of the page
 
InfoHound
post Feb 12 2019, 09:09 AM
Post#6



Posts: 1,119
Joined: 1-December 12



Thanks David, it didn't work ,but, the decompile routine is really great.

Hi projecttoday, yes it appears in the property sheet. If this is what you mean: me.purchase.value = 220
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Feb 12 2019, 09:34 AM
Post#7


UA Admin
Posts: 34,584
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Attached File  controllist.jpg ( 39.88K )Number of downloads: 0

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
River59
post Feb 12 2019, 09:39 AM
Post#8



Posts: 1,592
Joined: 7-April 10
From: Detroit, MI


GroverParkGeorge shows how to locate that control. When you select the control from the Property Sheet, the cursor should go to the control. You may have a control on top of it, or it may be off the screen so it isn't obvious. Just check where the cursor lands and move things around until you locate it.

--------------------
Remember ... Armstrong, Aldrin and Collins flew to the moon and back with a computer system less complex than a modern, programmable toaster ...
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Feb 12 2019, 10:41 AM
Post#9


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 10,605
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV




QUOTE
If this is what you mean: me.purchase.value = 220

Did you mean that? As you can see, numbers don't appear in the controls dropdown.

If after selecting the control and checking the form layout thoroughly you still can't see it, you might try changing its location in the properties (Left and Top) so it will move out from behind whatever is hiding it.

--------------------
Robert Crouser
Go to the top of the page
 
River59
post Feb 12 2019, 01:15 PM
Post#10



Posts: 1,592
Joined: 7-April 10
From: Detroit, MI


Yes, projecttoday! I forgot that part. I lost a control once and dbGuy told me how to find it like you suggested. thumbup.gif

--------------------
Remember ... Armstrong, Aldrin and Collins flew to the moon and back with a computer system less complex than a modern, programmable toaster ...
Go to the top of the page
 
InfoHound
post Feb 12 2019, 04:00 PM
Post#11



Posts: 1,119
Joined: 1-December 12



Wow, years and years of using Access and I've never realized what that combo box on the Property sheet did. i've never even clicked on it before. Thanks everyone it's been a good session for learning stuff today.

The Purchase control is not listed in the property combo box; yet when I type "Me.Purchase" and click enter in the Immediate window it returns 220.
It does not seem to affect any of the results but I'm concern as this form is a Profit and Loss Statement for my company.

Thanks again great stuff! I really appreciate the help.

Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Feb 12 2019, 08:42 PM
Post#12


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 10,605
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


No control? Is it in the record source?

--------------------
Robert Crouser
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    22nd February 2019 - 09:17 AM