UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How To Handle Duplicate Part Number In Inventory System, Access 2003    

Pencil
post Sep 8 2019, 09:21 AM
Post#1

I am fairly new to data bases design and have built a few in the past, but I have come across this issue.

I am not sure how to handle part numbers that have the same part number in my table. I know there is the YEs Don't Allow Duplicate, but prices change for the same part number. Maybe I am look at this the wrong way. In the past system I have always just used the PN an then if the price increased for this I would just put the year behind the part number like example PN-19. This worked fine in as long as the supplier only increase their price once in that year, but I have come across where they have increase prices two three times in a year.

So currently I have a table that is set to Yes All Duplicate in the PN field, and I have four PN enter that are now the same. The price has not changed yet as I purchased them all this week.
When I go to charge them out on a form showing I only used one the report brings across all 4 of these same part numbers.

What I am doing wrong here and is there a better way to handle this situation. I sat here yesterday racking my brain and just can think of the best possible solution.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated. Again I am by no means a advance user in access still learning by trail and error mostly errors most days, but I am learning.
Go to the top of the page

theDBguy
post Sep 8 2019, 09:29 AM
Post#2

Access Wiki and Forums Moderator

Hi. For something like this, I would use several tables. For example:

tblParts
PartNo, PK

tblSuppliers
SupplierID, PK

tblPartSuppliers
PartID, PK
PartNo, FK
SupplierID, FK

tblPartPrices
PriceID, PK
PartID, FK
Price
EffectiveDate

Hope it helps...

--------------------