UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Constraining Values Of Multiple Fields Based On One Field Being Populated, Access 2016    

mal0454
post Oct 29 2019, 01:51 PM
Post#1

Background: I have a 'Promissory Note' table with a 'Promissory Note Semester' field as well as fields of each type of promissory note: 'Housing' 'Short Term Loan' etc. A student can have multiple promissory notes per semester, but they don't have to have all of them. I can't set each field to "required" because they aren't necessarily required as the record in the table only exists is one of the multiple types is uploaded. I just need to make sure that if the "Promissory Note Term" is populated, AT LEAST one of the promissory note type fields need to be populated.

I tried a few SQL things (but I am new at that and really don't think I was even on the right track) and I also originally tried to have each promissory note type as it's own table and linked to the main Promissory Note table where the term field is housed, but it was cumbersome when I got to the user interface portion of the database, so it is currently all in one table. If having separate tables is truly the best option, I suppose I can go back to that, but I was wondering if there was something I can do to just require that at least one type be populated (can be more than one as well) when a new record/term is created.

Go to the top of the page

GroverParkGeorge
post Oct 29 2019, 02:00 PM
Post#2

UA Admin

Welcome to UtterAccess.

The underlying problem is NOT about constraining values.

The underlying problem is an inappropriate table design.

You have what is frequently referred to as a "spreadsheet-style" table. That's okay in Excel, but it's not how a Relational Database like Access works.