UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Remove Directory Via Command Prompt (aka "dos"), 2013    
 
   
bakersburg9
post Sep 23 2019, 12:29 PM
Post#1



Posts: 5,573
Joined: 2-November 04
From: Downey, CA


This should be so simple, I'm hoping someone knows based on personal experience - I've tried many, MANY times on my own, and it doesn't work - I'm familiar with basic command prompt syntax, formerly referred to as "DOS commands" - I know how to copy, rename, delete, go up one level, go back one level

I want to remove a directory - I thought the syntax was very simple... at the command prompt, type:
CODE
Rmdir <directoryName>
... that's it ! not working for me - I've also tried "Rm," I've tried DEL

... What's going on ???

.... if you see from the screen shot, I'm trying to delete/remove the first directory - what SHOULD be easier with Win10 is that now you don't have to jump through hoops to copy, you can just CTRL+C to copy to buffer, then paste
This post has been edited by bakersburg9: Sep 23 2019, 12:31 PM
Attached File(s)
Attached File  CommandPromptUAchallengeRemoveDirectory.png ( 41.83K )Number of downloads: 6
 
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Sep 23 2019, 12:36 PM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 7,010
Joined: 30-June 11



Have you tried surrounding the directory name with quotes?
Have you tried using the DOS short name version of the directory name?

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP, UA VIP, EE Distinguished Expert 2018)
Professional Help: https://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: https://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
bakersburg9
post Sep 23 2019, 12:50 PM
Post#3



Posts: 5,573
Joined: 2-November 04
From: Downey, CA


QUOTE
Have you tried surrounding the directory name with quotes?
yes - no luck - see below

QUOTE
Have you tried using the DOS short name version of the directory name?
- didn't know that was possible, so I learned something new today!!! That's the good news - but got error - access denied - for both methods, the quotes and the shortname



Steve
This post has been edited by bakersburg9: Sep 23 2019, 12:52 PM
Attached File(s)
Attached File  UA_Challenge_ShortName_Remove_Directory.png ( 51.05K )Number of downloads: 4
 
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Sep 23 2019, 12:57 PM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 7,010
Joined: 30-June 11



Well Access denied implies a permission issue.

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP, UA VIP, EE Distinguished Expert 2018)
Professional Help: https://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: https://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
bakersburg9
post Sep 23 2019, 01:05 PM
Post#5



Posts: 5,573
Joined: 2-November 04
From: Downey, CA


QUOTE
...'access denied' implies a permission issue.
that's what I figured - how my machine could PLACE something somewhere, but I can't REMOVE it... thanks for your help !
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Sep 23 2019, 01:16 PM
Post#6


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 7,010
Joined: 30-June 11



What about when you start the command prompt you right-click and select "Run As Administrator"?

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP, UA VIP, EE Distinguished Expert 2018)
Professional Help: https://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: https://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
ADezii
post Sep 23 2019, 02:17 PM
Post#7



Posts: 2,710
Joined: 4-February 07
From: USA, Florida, Delray Beach


If there are any Files in the Directory or a lower level Tree, you won't be able to DELETE it unless you specify the /S switch. Is this a possibility? Try:
CODE
rmdir 2017%20&%202018%20Alletc. /S
Go to the top of the page
 
bakersburg9
post Sep 23 2019, 03:29 PM
Post#8



Posts: 5,573
Joined: 2-November 04
From: Downey, CA


Daniel / Adez - it takes a village - ADez - that didn't work, but you lead me to success! I tried your suggestion, and like I stated, it didn't work, but I tried it with the short name, and it worked like a CHARM!!! so not only did I figure this out, but I learned about the 'short' names! I'd never heard of that !

Thanks, ALL !! cool.gif uarulez2.gif

Steve
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    12th December 2019 - 05:51 AM