UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Running Access 2016 Under Linux Ubunto, Access 2016    
 
   
pere_de_chipstic...
post Feb 25 2020, 11:16 AM
Post#1


UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 10,625
Joined: 8-November 07
From: South coast, England


Hi to my Utter Friends

I have developed a database that my client now tells me he needs to run on Linux / Ubunto. I have researched this a little and understand that there is a program called "WINE" that will allow windows programs to run under a Linux. However he informs me that WINE will only run windows programs up to 2007.

Any suggestions about how to resolve this and allow an A2016 FE & BE to run on his Linux/Ubunto PC?

Many thanks

--------------------
Warm regards
Bernie
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Feb 25 2020, 11:23 AM
Post#2


UA Moderator
Posts: 78,098
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Maybe VirtualBox? Just thinking out loud...

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post Feb 25 2020, 11:28 AM
Post#3


UtterAccess Moderator
Posts: 12,807
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


I second Virtualbox. (though you will need a Windows licence)

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 
pere_de_chipstic...
post Feb 25 2020, 11:41 AM
Post#4


UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 10,625
Joined: 8-November 07
From: South coast, England


Thank you both for the quick response and recommendation.

I'll put that to my client and see where we go from there.

Cheers cheers.gif

--------------------
Warm regards
Bernie
Go to the top of the page
 
kfield7
post Feb 25 2020, 03:34 PM
Post#5



Posts: 1,068
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Iowa Lot


What do you mean by "run the database"?

Do need the front end to work as is, or do you just need to be able to access and modify the data in the back end?

If the latter, you can install one of the flavors of openoffice and use Base to connect to the backend. You may need to create some forms (these are hideous compared to Access, but it works).
Go to the top of the page
 
pere_de_chipstic...
post Feb 25 2020, 03:43 PM
Post#6


UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 10,625
Joined: 8-November 07
From: South coast, England


Hi
I need the front end to run in the Linux/Ubunto environment.

I appreciate that you can read ace data from base, but I need the FE to run!

--------------------
Warm regards
Bernie
Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post Feb 25 2020, 04:03 PM
Post#7


UtterAccess Moderator
Posts: 12,807
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


RemoteDesktop/VNC over SSH is another route.

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    26th May 2020 - 09:43 PM