UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
> Runtime Suggestions, Access 2013    
 
   
Alexander
post May 23 2019, 03:14 PM
Post#1



Posts: 3,426
Joined: 30-December 03
From: Glasgow, Scotland


Still going strong with Access and not had any recent issues (thanks to the advice and help on UA) but now looking for some pointers using Access Runtime 2013.

I have a number of users with new Windows 10 laptops which come with the trial version of Office 365 but they do not want to purchase the full version.

They want to use my Access application so I have been directing them to download the 32 bit version of Access Runtime 2013.

Is it best to get clients to download and install the 32 bit Runtime then for me to supply the application or is there a better way?

I am unsure on what security measures to take regarding Macro warning etc and would welcome some pointers and links to help me understand and make this as seamless as possible.

Thanks

--------------------
Alexander
Keep using the sunscreen!
Go to the top of the page
 
 
Start new topic
Replies
Bullschmidt
post May 28 2019, 07:01 PM
Post#2



Posts: 12
Joined: 8-May 19



It SEEMS easy enough in theory to let users download it themselves, but when I fiddled around with an Access runtime many years ago I found that I needed to do it all myself as you never know ahead of time what kind of little problems you'll run into. So I just got everything working (and sometimes that was harder than expected) so that all the user had to do was use it...
Go to the top of the page
 
Alexander
post May 29 2019, 04:21 AM
Post#3



Posts: 3,426
Joined: 30-December 03
From: Glasgow, Scotland


Many thanks for the reply and I understand what you are saying but I do not know how to combine both the runtime and the application and then supply to my client.

I get them to download Access Runtime 2013 and once installed I supply the .accde file. I know setting trusted locations is a problem with the Runtime.

I think the best bet is to find a full and legal version of an older Microsoft Office eg 2010 Professional Plus that contains Access. I will search around for Microsoft Office re-seller and should get it for a low price and this will solve the issues.

Surprised UA do not offer this service?

Thanks again.

--------------------
Alexander
Keep using the sunscreen!
Go to the top of the page
 
Phil_cattivocara...
post May 29 2019, 04:59 AM
Post#4



Posts: 324
Joined: 2-April 18



I would give a try to NSIS https://nsis.sourceforge.io/Main_Page
I do not know if in UA archive there is something about it. I can give a link to little Italian "project" (a bit old but... the author deserve a try) http://mirror.masterdrive.it/alessandrobar...FIdFAQ=293.html

--------------------
Please forgive in advance my horrible English.
Go to the top of the page
 

Posts in this topic



Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    23rd August 2019 - 05:01 PM