UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Link Table    
 
   
ingallsr51
post Jan 12 2005, 08:26 AM
Post#1



Posts: 2
Joined: 10-January 05



I have a table linked to excel but for some reason a couple of records are showing up #Num! - I have reviewed my data and can not figure out why, is this a formatting issue? Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
malcolmd83
post Jan 12 2005, 08:49 AM
Post#2



Posts: 1,208
Joined: 19-July 04
From: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada


What "type" of data are you linking: Date/Time, Currency, Text, etc.? Sounds to me like a couple of the cells in Excel may be formatted differently then the rest. This would cause Access not to know how to deal with the data. In your Excel file, try selecting the whole column which contains the cells which are giving an error in Access, and right-click -> Format Cells. Then choose the appropriate "number" format, and click OK.
Hope this helps...
Go to the top of the page
 
ingallsr51
post Jan 12 2005, 10:34 AM
Post#3



Posts: 2
Joined: 10-January 05



I have checked and rechecked all formats to assure uniformity. I am pulling a number containing letters and numbers with a format of General. There are other records with the similiar data that pull in correctly. Any other ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
malcolmd83
post Jan 12 2005, 10:45 AM
Post#4



Posts: 1,208
Joined: 19-July 04
From: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada


Here are a couple of links to other threads which discuss a similar problem. Perhaps some of the suggestions given there will be helpful:
*] Import Excel file in Access
[*] #Num! error with imported data from a linked Excel Spreadsheet
[*] linking tables and formatting
Hopefully one of these will help you out. Please let us know what you discover to work!
Go to the top of the page
 
vangie
post Jan 12 2005, 10:59 AM
Post#5


UA Editor + Utter Access Ruler
Posts: 1,844
Joined: 16-March 00
From: California, USA


Try using the Convert Text to Column Wizard . In the menu bar:
ata
Text to Columns
Select Fixed Width
Next
Next
Select Text
Finish
If this does not work let me know.
Good luck.
Go to the top of the page
 
gemmathehusky
post May 21 2019, 05:46 AM
Post#6


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 4,693
Joined: 5-June 07
From: UK


I never link to Excel, but when you import from excel, access/excel decide the column format from the first few rows.

so if the first few are integers, then text values are rejected, and real numbers may "lose" the decimal part. I prefer not to use excel because of this, but if I have to, I like to add a row2 to the excel table to force the format I want. eg, if column B is a text column I add the word text to cell B2, to force it to be treated as text.

As others have said, this is most likely to be the issue.


--------------------
Dave (Male)

(Gemma was my dog)
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    24th June 2019 - 04:31 AM