UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
4 Pages V < 1 2 3 4 >  (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hide Privacy Options, Access 2010    
 
   
munhun
post Oct 10 2018, 07:43 PM
Post#41



Posts: 3
Joined: 1-October 18



The screenshots you showed are what I want.

The version I use is 2010.

Where is the demo?
I'd like you to display the link.


Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 10 2018, 08:00 PM
Post#42


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,582
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

The link to my website is in my signature below. When you get there, click on the Demo tab.

Hope it helps...

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
munhun
post Oct 10 2018, 08:51 PM
Post#43



Posts: 3
Joined: 1-October 18



Thank you very much.

<ribbon startFromScratch="true">

This sentence solved what I wanted.

Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 10 2018, 09:07 PM
Post#44


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,582
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


You're welcome. Glad to hear you got it to work. Good luck with your project.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
dterrell625
post Feb 13 2019, 07:33 PM
Post#45



Posts: 9
Joined: 13-February 19



I tried the code that you showed to hide everything except for Exit. Nothing shows up when I go to select SimpleMenu as the Ribbon. I have attached it. Could you please tell me what I am doing wrong?
Attached File(s)
Attached File  SimpleMenu.zip ( 23.56K )Number of downloads: 10
 
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Feb 13 2019, 07:58 PM
Post#46


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,582
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. Welcome to UtterAccess!

welcome2UA.gif

Which version of Access are you using? Have you seen this updated article?

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Feb 13 2019, 08:32 PM
Post#47


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,582
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. I just downloaded your file and where you went wrong is that you had the wrong table name and your Ribbon XML is incomplete. Try downloading the demo I had here or on my website to see what it's supposed to be. Also, take a look at the article link I posted earlier.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
dterrell625
post Feb 13 2019, 09:15 PM
Post#48



Posts: 9
Joined: 13-February 19



I just found the demo. It definitely hides the privacy options. I was thinking it was going to reduce it to exit and also hide the quick access toolbar,home tab, file tab and tell me what you what you want to do.

This post has been edited by dterrell625: Feb 13 2019, 09:36 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Feb 13 2019, 09:35 PM
Post#49


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,582
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Okay, let us know how it goes...

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
dterrell625
post Feb 13 2019, 09:47 PM
Post#50



Posts: 9
Joined: 13-February 19



I can't figure it out. I have been trying every little way I can for the last week on this. I think I have got everything else to protect a database. I have the login and the audit trail. I think this is the last thing I need for security other than disabling the shift key. But I don't want to do that before I figure out how to get into the database myself. Which I will work on. I am not a programmer and this security stuff is really hard. I am able to create tables, queries, reports and forms like I want. But I need to get this security thing to hide everything before I can actually split the database for deployment.
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Feb 13 2019, 09:52 PM
Post#51


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,582
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Can you post your actual database without any data, so we can tell you what's missing? Also, did you mention which version of Access you will be using to run your database application? As I mentioned in the previous article, the code to hide the backstage has changed from 2010 to 2016.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
dterrell625
post Feb 13 2019, 10:05 PM
Post#52



Posts: 9
Joined: 13-February 19



I have even put this in my actually database yet because I don't want to take the chance of doing anything to it. I am still building it. So I am just trying to do this on its own and then import it in.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Database1.zip ( 22.43K )Number of downloads: 5
 
Go to the top of the page
 
dterrell625
post Feb 13 2019, 10:06 PM
Post#53



Posts: 9
Joined: 13-February 19



By the way I have access 2007 and 2016 on my computer. I am trying to do this in 2016.
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Feb 13 2019, 10:15 PM
Post#54


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,582
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Okay, looking at the latest file you uploaded, I see you got the name of the table correct now; however, the XML for the ribbon is still incomplete. Why have you not tried simply copying the XML from my demo into your database and just replace the backstage section with the updated version from the blog article?

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Feb 13 2019, 10:17 PM
Post#55


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,582
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Here's a copy of the file you just posted. All I did was select the ribbon as the system ribbon. Take a look at the File menu now.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Database1.zip ( 18.02K )Number of downloads: 15
 

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
dterrell625
post Feb 13 2019, 10:32 PM
Post#56



Posts: 9
Joined: 13-February 19



I tried to select that, but it wouldn't show up. I don't know why. But the quick access toolbar still shows. And is it possible to disable the file and the home button too?
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Feb 13 2019, 10:35 PM
Post#57


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,582
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. The Home, yes, the File, No.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
dterrell625
post Feb 13 2019, 10:44 PM
Post#58



Posts: 9
Joined: 13-February 19



How do I hide the Home button and the quick access toolbar?
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Feb 13 2019, 10:54 PM
Post#59


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,582
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. Using startFromScratch=true will hide the built-in ribbon, which includes the Home tab. Check out this page for hiding the QAT.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
dterrell625
post Feb 13 2019, 10:55 PM
Post#60



Posts: 9
Joined: 13-February 19



I will do that. Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
4 Pages V < 1 2 3 4 >


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    20th November 2019 - 10:18 AM