UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How To Remove Access Report Password, Access 2007    
 
   
alaaammar
post Nov 8 2018, 05:31 AM
Post#1



Posts: 2
Joined: 8-November 18



Hi.
I'm working in unprotected access database and I want to modify its report date, but I found that the reports in my access database file is protected, so I couldn't modify the report .

My I ask you how to remove the reports password to able to modify the report date ?

Thanks a lot
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Nov 8 2018, 06:00 AM
Post#2



Posts: 641
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


That depends on how the password was added.
If your database really is unprotected, solution 1 should do it but I suspect it is method 2 you need

1. Code added to the Report_Open event.
Remove the code or disable it temporarily

2. The VBA project is protected
If so, you won't be able to view any code without entering the password
To remove it, open the VBE, go to Tools ...Database Properties.
Enter your password .... YES YOU DO NEED TO KNOW IT!
Click the protection tab & untick the checkbox
If you want to remove the protection permanently remove the password

NOTE: if you don't know the password, there are ways around it, but it would be inappropriate to mention these here as the methods can be also used for hacking

3. You have a compiled database (ACCDE / MDE)
The code is compiled so no longer available.
You would need the original ACCDB / MDB files to edit database objects

You may find this article by Daniel Pineault on his website worth reading
This post has been edited by isladogs: Nov 8 2018, 06:01 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
alaaammar
post Nov 8 2018, 06:54 AM
Post#3



Posts: 2
Joined: 8-November 18



Thanks too much for instant response , I followed your steps (method 2) and the report is opened but I couldn't open it in design mode and when I try . I find a message says : (You can't modify the design of 'Form' at a replica. Design changes to replicated objects can be made only at the Design Master. Do you want to open as read only?) SO I could't modify it ; How can I do ?
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Nov 8 2018, 07:27 AM
Post#4


UA Admin
Posts: 33,940
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Is this an mdb or an accdb? Replication was used in the old JET database engine, but was deprecated for the ACE database engine in the 2007 accdb version.

So, if the error you are seeing does reflect the fact that you have a replicated mdb, you have a different sort of problem to resolve. I seem to recall that you can recover objects from a replica, but it's been over 10 years. It'll take a bit of review to find references.

But first is this in fact a copy of a replicated mdb?

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Visit My Blog on Facebook
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Nov 8 2018, 09:46 AM
Post#5



Posts: 641
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


I've just looked at an old replicated database in Access 97.
Whilst you can't alter the design of forms/reports in the replica, you can import those items into a new database
When you do so, the replication status is removed and they become editable.

HTH
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Nov 8 2018, 09:57 AM
Post#6


UA Admin
Posts: 33,940
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Thanks. That's what I was sort of remembering, but it's good to have it confirmed.


--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Visit My Blog on Facebook
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Nov 8 2018, 10:21 AM
Post#7



Posts: 641
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


You're welcome.
I did a sort of 'refresher course' for myself on replication when writing my System Tables website article recently.
Prior to that, I'd not looked at replication for almost 15 years so I still had to check just now!
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    16th November 2018 - 02:27 AM