UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
3 Pages V < 1 2 3  (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Changing Code While Debugging, Access 2013    
 
   
isladogs
post Feb 20 2020, 04:34 PM
Post#41


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 2,243
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


I normally use break on unhandled errors during development work as well.
When its difficult to pin down the exact location of an error, I will add line numbers to the code.


--------------------
Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
Website, email
Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post Feb 20 2020, 05:49 PM
Post#42


UtterAccess Moderator
Posts: 12,621
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


>> including one that has multi-use type 5 instancing for a UDT. <<

You don't always need a class for a UDT - VBA can declare Types natively.

See the page linked here

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 
FrankRuperto
post Feb 20 2020, 06:26 PM
Post#43



Posts: 813
Joined: 21-September 14
From: (MilitaryBrat) Tampa Bay, Florida, USA


>> You don't always need a class for a UDT - VBA can declare Types natively. <<

Agreed, however it was already in the code when my current dev inherited the project and we fear all inferno breaking loose if we change that and other stuff as well. I theorize the reason that class was created is because it needed methods and properties. It's structure is weird, like collections in an array ugh, not my cup of tea. Some day we will get around to refactoring this app, it needs it really bad, but I'm afraid that's going to take more time versus rewriting it from scratch frown.gif

Access has so many different features, I recently discovered our app is using field tags property (all the way at the end of properties), to group several fields together. Guess its going to take time for trial_and_error and learning all there is to know. Something one doesn't learn overnight
This post has been edited by FrankRuperto: Feb 20 2020, 06:37 PM

--------------------
Currently supporting pawnbrokers that use my store management system developed with Access 2010 on Windows7. Experienced with Informix, Oracle & PostgreSQL db's.
Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post Feb 20 2020, 06:31 PM
Post#44


UtterAccess Moderator
Posts: 12,621
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


>> I theorize the reason that class was created is because it needed methods and properties <<

OK, I'd call that an object, rather than a Type - so, yes a class is necessary.

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 
3 Pages V < 1 2 3


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    6th April 2020 - 07:05 AM