UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Custom Menu Bar    
 
   
kbrewster
post Jan 15 2004, 07:48 AM
Post#1


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 4,504
Joined: 18-August 03
From: NH


I was wondering if any knew how to create a custom Menu option. I want the Title to be "Help" and in the drop down I want a choice of "User Manual". I am just not sure where to put the code to do this.
Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
winty
post Jan 15 2004, 07:56 AM
Post#2



Posts: 46
Joined: 16-October 03
From: England


you can do it in normal access just by customising the toolbars, just right click on the tool bar and click customize then add new menu and then depending on how the manual is stored you can drag it onto the menu, well thats how i owuld do it anyway!
The manual will probably need to be in web page format, but this makes sense anyway so you can use hyperlinks, and make it easier to use. however it will need to be stored in the database cos the menus can only be applied to the database, well i think anyway! but someone else could have a better way of doing it so dont take what i am saying for gospel!
WINTY
Go to the top of the page
 
kbrewster
post Jan 15 2004, 09:03 AM
Post#3


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 4,504
Joined: 18-August 03
From: NH


I am attatching a picture of the Main Menu, maybe that will make more sense. I do not want a command button for the "USER MANUAL", I want to put it under "Help".
inty, I am not really sure what you meant by "depending on how the manual is stored you can drag it onto the menu"
It is a word document. The code behind the command button is...
Dim strAppName as String
strAppName = "C:\EMR\EMR User Manual.doc"
Application.FollowHyperlink strAppName
Go to the top of the page
 
winty
post Jan 16 2004, 03:52 AM
Post#4



Posts: 46
Joined: 16-October 03
From: England


hi,
are you on about the help menu, as in the drop down, cos if it is as a web page within the database you can use the customise function that you should of used when removing the other dropdowns off the menubar! just go down in the customise window and if it is a webpage within the database it will be available just like a report etc.
dont know if you can add it from an external source or what! cos im only an access student sorta thing! so i dont know if this is any help. but i will look if you want!
WINTY
Go to the top of the page
 
mvos
post Jan 16 2004, 04:36 AM
Post#5


Utterly Certified UA VIP
Posts: 7,563
Joined: 23-January 03
From: Worcester, England


Hi,
This is a three stage process.
1. Create a public function
Public Function OpenHelp()
Dim strAppName as String
strAppName = "C:\EMR\EMR User Manual.doc"
Application.FollowHyperlink strAppName
End Function
2. Create a macro to call the function with the Action = RunCode and the function name = OpenHelp()
3. Right click on the menubar and select Customise, select AllMacros and drag your macro onto the menubar.
Go to the top of the page
 
kbrewster
post Jan 16 2004, 08:14 AM
Post#6


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 4,504
Joined: 18-August 03
From: NH


Thank you so much mvos...works great!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
mvos
post Jan 16 2004, 08:31 AM
Post#7


Utterly Certified UA VIP
Posts: 7,563
Joined: 23-January 03
From: Worcester, England


You're welcome smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    23rd September 2019 - 04:09 AM