UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 64 Bit Access, Access 2016    
 
   
ngins
post Nov 17 2019, 08:45 AM
Post#1



Posts: 365
Joined: 18-August 05
From: DFW, TX, USA


Sorry if this is been discussed before. I was just wondering for those who have developed apps in 64-bit Access, if you've seen any significant differences between that and 32-bit Access? Better performance? Fewer bugs? Anything that makes switching to 64-bit Access worthwhile?

Thanks !

--------------------
Neil
Accessing since '96
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Nov 17 2019, 09:17 AM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 7,000
Joined: 30-June 11



In a general sense no, nothing of value. On top of that, you get into having to upgrade your API calls, certain ActiveX controls are not available, ... In some cases, I have heard it has helped with the resource exceeded error, but if that has never been an issue for you, it does little to help you. Typically, one switches to x64 for the benefits you get in Excel, but then again if you're juggling workbooks of the size, you're already using the wrong tool! There are also considerations if you are only installing Access in x64, but the rest of Office is x32 (automation is no longer possible!).

You may like to review https://www.devhut.net/2017/04/13/access-x3...-compatibility/ for a little info on the x32/x64 subject.

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP, UA VIP, EE Distinguished Expert 2018)
Professional Help: https://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: https://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
ngins
post Nov 17 2019, 09:25 AM
Post#3



Posts: 365
Joined: 18-August 05
From: DFW, TX, USA


Thanks for the excellent reply! In one database, we have been having problems with the resource exceeded issue. But so far I've been able to address it by just revising my queries or code. I have been having a problem recently with a certain form acting funky on occasion, which may be a corruption issue. So was wondering if there were major differences with using 64-bit access, especially when it came to Access bugs. But it sounds like there aren't.

Thanks again!

--------------------
Neil
Accessing since '96
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    9th December 2019 - 03:29 PM