UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
2 Pages V < 1 2  (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Access 2000 Menu Toolbars In Access 2010 And 2016, Access 2016    
 
   
theDBguy
post Jan 8 2019, 11:38 AM
Post#21


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,315
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi Thomas,

If you find how to reduce the space occupied by the Ribbon, that would be a big discovery for all of us. As far as I know, nobody has done it before. So, just in case, you may have to deal with the whole height of the Ribbon, if you don't find a solution. However, the Ribbon can me "minimized," if you want to hide/reduce the space temporarily.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Jan 8 2019, 12:48 PM
Post#22


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,845
Joined: 30-June 11



QUOTE
I couldn't find any way reduce the hight of the ribbon bar


Sadly that isn't a property that Microsoft exposed to us. So we're all stuck wasting a huge amount of real-estate.




Another solution is to simulate a commandbar by creating a form that you size and position, then you size and position the other objects you open. It's tricky to initially setup, but once you create the code, you're good to go.



--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Jan 8 2019, 01:19 PM
Post#23


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,606
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


Just to confirm that I now get the same results as you in 2010 & 2016 (365)

I would also just create your own ribbon - it will look better than what you have now
FYI, MS are in the process of rolling out a new streamlined ribbon to Office 365 apps and which needs much less vertical height
Its already in Outlook and other apps will follow in the coming months. I suspect Access will be one of the last to be modified

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Jan 8 2019, 08:01 PM
Post#24


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,845
Joined: 30-June 11



It's actually hilarious because when you read a couple articles on the subject they state that it will roll out to the web apps and then slowly to Outlook, Word and Excel on Windows, but there is absolutely no mention of Access. Typical Microsoft though, Access remains the black sheep of the family, again!

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
tohas
post Jan 9 2019, 05:05 AM
Post#25



Posts: 66
Joined: 9-July 10



here is the link to ms that describes the issue:

I didn't read this before yesterday :-(

https://support.office.com/en-us/article/di...en-US&ad=US

"Access 2003 toolbar and menus
You can no longer bypass the Ribbon interface and show Access 2003 toolbars and menus in Access 2013 as you could in 2007 and Access 2010. But you can make them appear on the Add-ins tab, or add them to a custom Ribbon group or the Quick Access Toolbar.
Access 2003 Toolbars and menus are shown in the Add-ins tab on the Ribbon. Adding them to a custom Ribbon group is also supported. You can also use RibbonX and XML to create a custom ribbon for your desktop database.
"
This post has been edited by tohas: Jan 9 2019, 05:08 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
2 Pages V < 1 2


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    19th September 2019 - 12:26 PM