UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Using (1) Form For (4) Categories, Access 2013    
 
   
krosal
post Apr 4 2020, 07:18 AM
Post#1



Posts: 65
Joined: 22-October 18



I have (1) form that I would like to use for (4) different categories of logging changes to our IT assets. I have tables for each of the (4) categories and have a form that is launched from (4) different buttons that are related to each category when launched by the category ID.

My question is how can I have the form when launched show the correct category options when launched. In the images I have attached, the form when launched which has all 4 categories in it just for reference. I want it to be the one that has the ID #2 as shown in the image.

Thank you
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Apr 4 2020, 07:26 AM
Post#2


UA Moderator
Posts: 78,448
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. If you're trying to hide/show only certain things, you could use something like:

Me.ControlName.Visible=(Me.TextboxName=2)

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
krosal
post Apr 4 2020, 07:49 AM
Post#3



Posts: 65
Joined: 22-October 18



Hello, I have the form opening based on the ID of the category. I'm trying to reduce the amount of forms I'm using for this procedure. When the form opens, it's related to the ID of the category. Is there a way to just show the category that is based on the ID of the category? I just put each of the categories in the form for a reference to this problem I have. I don't believe that I could actually select a different category that is not related.

Maybe your answer will work for my question. I can give it a try. I think if I would hide the tables or list box that are not used in each selection, possibly that will give me what I'm looking to do.

Is there a way to only load the associated table belong to the ID that is defined in the form loading sequence, ID 2 loads the table for the category?

Thank you!
This post has been edited by krosal: Apr 4 2020, 07:59 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
Jeff B.
post Apr 4 2020, 08:08 AM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 10,489
Joined: 30-April 10
From: Pacific NorthWet


A potential issue with a design like that … what happens when there are five categories instead of four? … or only three?

Another approach would be to create the form to display the info, then put an unbound combobox in the header of the form to allow selection of category. Base the record(s) displayed on a query using that unbound combobox in the form as a criterion.

Without a better idea of how your data is organized (i.e., tables, fields), not sure if this approach would be feasible.

--------------------
Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP (2002-2015)

Mention of hardware or software is, in no way, an endorsement thereof. The FTC of the USA made this disclaimer necessary/possible.
Go to the top of the page
 
mike60smart
post Apr 4 2020, 08:38 AM
Post#5


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 14,018
Joined: 6-June 05
From: Dunbar,Scotland


Hi

I agree with Jeff.

I believe you need to change the structure of your tables so that you have a table to list the CategoryTypes and then a related table for the actual Categories.

You can then use Cascading Combobox's which would allow you to select a Category (Switch, Server, Software or Misc) and then a Second Combobox would only list the Categories associated with the Type Selected.




--------------------
Hope this helps?

Mike

Get happiness out of your work or you may never know what happiness is.

Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Apr 4 2020, 09:31 AM
Post#6


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 12,378
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


QUOTE
I have tables for each of the (4) categories

I agree that you need to make design changes. Then you can make a search form which allows you to display the transactions filtered by category.

--------------------
Robert Crouser
Go to the top of the page
 
orange999
post Apr 4 2020, 10:19 AM
Post#7



Posts: 2,110
Joined: 10-February 08
From: Ottawa, Ont, Canada; West Palm Beach, FL


Here is a post with demo by tina that may be useful to you.

--------------------
Good luck with your project!
Go to the top of the page
 
krosal
post Apr 4 2020, 12:13 PM
Post#8



Posts: 65
Joined: 22-October 18



The current database that I uploaded have some duplicated renamed tables in it and I should have cleaned it up a little before I did the upload. What I am trying to do is have the user select an item from a related table to 'add the selected item' to the database. I currently have the buttons 'related' to the form based on the Incident_ID.

Incident_ID>Incident_Name

1 Software
2 Switch
3 Misc
4 Server

The form loads and is related to the ID of 1 of the 4 incident values as shown above. I am wanting a To just track a record of fixes or changes to one of the items selected. So, if I did something to a server that day, I want to add the notes for this Server I selected.

The attached image is showing the form opening with the ID showing


Example; HUNT-SEC as shown
Go to the top of the page
 
Jeff B.
post Apr 4 2020, 01:10 PM
Post#9


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 10,489
Joined: 30-April 10
From: Pacific NorthWet


I'll recap … I still don't have an idea how your data is organized. Folks here can provide more specific suggestions if we know what the structure of your data is.

--------------------
Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP (2002-2015)

Mention of hardware or software is, in no way, an endorsement thereof. The FTC of the USA made this disclaimer necessary/possible.
Go to the top of the page
 
mike60smart
post Apr 4 2020, 02:28 PM
Post#10


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 14,018
Joined: 6-June 05
From: Dunbar,Scotland


Hi

In the attached modified db If you click on the Command Button "Open Objects" the form that opens allows you to use the 1st ComboBox to select an Incident Type and the 2nd Combobox only shows those types associated.

Hope this helps

Attached File  Task_Tracking.zip ( 222.35K )Number of downloads: 4

--------------------
Hope this helps?

Mike

Get happiness out of your work or you may never know what happiness is.

Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Apr 4 2020, 02:45 PM
Post#11


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 12,378
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


Why not combo boxes? You have 1 for the user.

--------------------
Robert Crouser
Go to the top of the page
 
krosal
post Apr 4 2020, 04:15 PM
Post#12



Posts: 65
Joined: 22-October 18



I'm not sure why I didn't give that a try.

I think the combo boxes would be a good choice for me to do in this case since there isn't an easy option for what I was trying do.

Thank you,
This post has been edited by krosal: Apr 4 2020, 04:16 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Apr 4 2020, 07:51 PM
Post#13


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 12,378
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


You're welcome.

--------------------
Robert Crouser
Go to the top of the page
 
krosal
post Apr 5 2020, 09:05 AM
Post#14



Posts: 65
Joined: 22-October 18



Looking at my original design, this is the way I have it. I just wanted to use (1) for instead of 4 different forms.
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Apr 5 2020, 09:45 AM
Post#15


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 12,378
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


What are you trying to accomplish? What is in the table(s) that apply here? Why do you think you need 4 forms?

--------------------
Robert Crouser
Go to the top of the page
 
mike60smart
post Apr 5 2020, 09:57 AM
Post#16


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 14,018
Joined: 6-June 05
From: Dunbar,Scotland


Hi

This is what you need but it required a change to the table structure

I created a table called tblChanges and then applied Cascading Combobox's

Attached File  Task_Tracking.zip ( 207.01K )Number of downloads: 5

--------------------
Hope this helps?

Mike

Get happiness out of your work or you may never know what happiness is.

Go to the top of the page
 
krosal
post Apr 5 2020, 03:28 PM
Post#17



Posts: 65
Joined: 22-October 18



Mike,

I really like this approach and this will give me what I was looking to accomplish and just use (1) form. I really appreciate your help and everyone else.

Thank you all!
This post has been edited by krosal: Apr 5 2020, 03:29 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
mike60smart
post Apr 5 2020, 04:01 PM
Post#18


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 14,018
Joined: 6-June 05
From: Dunbar,Scotland


Hi

We were glad to help


--------------------
Hope this helps?

Mike

Get happiness out of your work or you may never know what happiness is.

Go to the top of the page
 
krosal
post Apr 5 2020, 05:27 PM
Post#19



Posts: 65
Joined: 22-October 18



Thanks Mike, I really appreciate the help. I like how you get the information for the combo box incidentTypes, wonderful work! Thank you so much!
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    6th July 2020 - 03:42 AM