UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> SSMA Problem, Any Versions    
 
   
johnpdmccall
post Jan 15 2020, 09:19 AM
Post#1



Posts: 1,821
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Ayrshire, Scotland


Hi Folks

I'm getting this error when I try to select a database to migrate via the migration wizard:

"Access Object Collector error: Database
Retrieving the COM class factory for component with CLSID {CD7791B9-43FD-42C5-AE42-8DD2811F0419} failed due to the following error: 80040154 Class not registered (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80040154 (REGDB_E_CLASSNOTREG)). Please make sure that you are using the correct version of SQL Server Migration Assistant. If you have 32-bit Microsoft Access installed, then you will need to use 32-bit version of the Migration Assistant. In order to use 64-bit version of Migration Assistant, you will need to install 64-bit Microsoft Access components available at https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=834402.
An error occurred while loading database content."

I've got 32-bit Microsoft Access installed and 32-bit version of the Migration Assistant
The SSMA has been working fine for months.
I'm going to reinstall it plus Office (365 ) 32bit

Anyone else had this problem?



--------------------
Cheers,
John
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jan 15 2020, 09:38 AM
Post#2


UA Admin
Posts: 36,753
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Which version of SSMA do you have installed?

I believe the latest version available is 8.6

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
johnpdmccall
post Jan 15 2020, 09:50 AM
Post#3



Posts: 1,821
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Ayrshire, Scotland


Thanks George,
Just installed it - same troublesome message.
I'm going to uninstall and re-install office in a few minutes when I can.
Hope this isn't a sneaky part of the Microsoft 'push' to use 64bit Access .

--------------------
Cheers,
John
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jan 15 2020, 09:58 AM
Post#4


UA Admin
Posts: 36,753
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


I doubt it, but you never know.

After you repair/reinstall Office, if you still get the same error, let us know. I'll pass it on to the Access team. It's the day after Tuesday Windows/Office update day, after all....

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
johnpdmccall
post Jan 15 2020, 12:56 PM
Post#5



Posts: 1,821
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Ayrshire, Scotland


Hi George

Still getting the same error.
I've reinstalled SSMA plus uninstalled and re-installed Office 365 software. All 32 bit on a 64bit HP Pavillion with Windows 10

I'm going to try it on a clean (hand built - ha ha) PC with WIndows10

--------------------
Cheers,
John
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jan 15 2020, 12:57 PM
Post#6


UA Admin
Posts: 36,753
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


I'm going to ping the Access team, just in case.

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
johnpdmccall
post Jan 15 2020, 01:04 PM
Post#7



Posts: 1,821
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Ayrshire, Scotland


Thanks George,
Much appreciated.
I'll let you know if a clean install (OS, the lot) on the PC works.

--------------------
Cheers,
John
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jan 15 2020, 02:29 PM
Post#8


UA Admin
Posts: 36,753
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Okay, then. I had forgotten this point. Sorry.

"It isn't currently sufficient to install O365 to support SSMA, you need to use an MSI install, so either an MSI install of Office, or the Ace Redist (which is only MSI)."

And, no, this has NOTHING to do with pushing 64 bit Office. I

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
johnpdmccall
post Jan 15 2020, 04:29 PM
Post#9



Posts: 1,821
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Ayrshire, Scotland


Thanks George

You comment above was really useful. I'm a bit stupid so I tried Installing Access Runtime 2016 (where Microsoft led me) and got the 64-bit conflict thingy. There is no Office 64 bit on my machine.

So then I thought "Aha, I had this problem before when my installer looks for any Access on my User's machines, doesn't find it and tries to install Access 2016 Runtime and get errors that make no sense."
I think it may have been you who advised using Access 2013 runtime instead which I've been doing for my users.

So the solution - if you have installed Office 365 via your account- it seems you also need to install Access 2013 runtime. Then you need to make sure your .accdb etc open with the 365 Access. WHat fun!

Now working well thanks so much for your help. uarulez2.gif

No thanks to Microsoft who seem to take delight in making things difficult- but what do I know. I've only been working with Access since 1992 *Manic laughter*
This post has been edited by johnpdmccall: Jan 15 2020, 04:29 PM

--------------------
Cheers,
John
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jan 15 2020, 04:31 PM
Post#10


UA Admin
Posts: 36,753
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


The worst part is that I forgot about it....

The best part is you figured it out anyway...

Continued success with your project.

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I did business for 20 years.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    18th February 2020 - 08:57 PM