UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Access Seeing Parentheses That Aren't There, Access 2016    
 
   
wbhburn
post Oct 17 2019, 04:42 PM
Post#1



Posts: 19
Joined: 18-March 14



I've never tried to make a query from other queries before but I'm doing this because I don't want to have to remake expressions that do some calcs for me. All the tables and queries appear linked properly but I can not get rid of a syntax error message.

See message and query grid in attachement please...

It keeps telling me there are additional parens when there are not. I've gone through it many times.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  QueryCapture.JPG ( 89.99K )Number of downloads: 7
 
Go to the top of the page
 
June7
post Oct 17 2019, 04:55 PM
Post#2



Posts: 1,028
Joined: 25-January 16



Should post attempted query SQL statement, not just image.

For some reason it is seeing extra [ (bracket, not parentheses) character and I cannot see why.

If you want to provide db for analysis, follow instructions at bottom of my post.

This post has been edited by June7: Oct 17 2019, 04:59 PM

--------------------
Attachments Manager is below the edit post window. To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.
DEBUG! DEBUG! DEBUG! http://www.cpearson.com/Excel/DebuggingVBA.aspx
Go to the top of the page
 
wbhburn
post Oct 17 2019, 05:51 PM
Post#3



Posts: 19
Joined: 18-March 14



Sorry, I should have thought of that. However, when I try to switch to SQL view I get the same message.

There are other tables/qrys in the qry that have the same field names as I want to use. What is the syntax in a query expression when one wants to identify a table or query with the field? I tried qry4Glass![GL_High]*qry4Glass![GL_Wide]. I also tried it with dot's between but it didn't like that either.
Go to the top of the page
 
June7
post Oct 17 2019, 06:16 PM
Post#4



Posts: 1,028
Joined: 25-January 16



This should work:

qry4Glass.GL_High * qry4Glass.GL_Wide


--------------------
Attachments Manager is below the edit post window. To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.
DEBUG! DEBUG! DEBUG! http://www.cpearson.com/Excel/DebuggingVBA.aspx
Go to the top of the page
 
wbhburn
post Oct 17 2019, 06:29 PM
Post#5



Posts: 19
Joined: 18-March 14



Oh if you have the dots you don't need brackets. Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Oct 18 2019, 01:53 AM
Post#6


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 10,152
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


Hi: Make sure that GlassSF is not a field used in any of the tables/query sources in the query, and remove qry4Glass from the Table row for that field in the query.

HTH
Joe

--------------------
"Each problem that I solved became a rule, which served afterwards to solve other problems."
"You just keep pushing. You just keep pushing. I made every mistake that could be made. But I just kept pushing."

Rene Descartes 1596-1650 (Mathematician and Philosopher)
Go to the top of the page
 
jleach
post Oct 18 2019, 05:36 AM
Post#7


UtterAccess Administrator
Posts: 10,281
Joined: 7-December 09
From: St. Augustine, FL


Sometimes this happens if you sort on a field when building a query, then end up renaming or removing the field (but the sort order stays as a property in the query - it's quite annoying).

Try opening the query in design mode, click ok through the error(s), then open the property window of the query and check through all the properties for a similar expression that may still be existing even though the field/parameter itself is no longer there.

hth

Edit: I re-read the dialog and think it's not the one I had in mind, so my post above probably isn't the case...

--------------------
Jack D. Leach
Founder & CEO
Dymeng Services Inc.
Business Software Solutions
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    12th December 2019 - 05:07 PM