UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Column Report, Access 2016    
 
   
Raas
post Aug 31 2019, 02:58 PM
Post#1



Posts: 639
Joined: 27-January 07
From: Northern Arizona


I create a column report, but the first item prints in the right-hand column. I want it to start in the left-hand column and move right-to-left. I set my controls to the left in the detail section, I've moved them to the right (just to try), but I can't seem to get the report to start in the left column.
Any thoughts would be appreciated.

It also appears that the first item is being displayed in the header section, at the right. ... but my controls are all in the Detail section to the left.
Doing some more playing around, I find that if I remove the header section, then the printout starts by printing on the left, as I want it too. However, now I can't have my heading character for each section show. i.e. a Capital A to designate the start of the A's group.

This post has been edited by Raas: Aug 31 2019, 03:15 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Aug 31 2019, 03:15 PM
Post#2


UA Admin
Posts: 35,878
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


We might have a better chance at helping if we had some more details to work with, and the most useful might be a sample of the accdb with enough sample data to see how it's supposed to work.

Thanks.

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Aug 31 2019, 03:15 PM
Post#3


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 76,382
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi. It might be better if you could post a sample file to check.

Edit: I should have just said "ditto."

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
Raas
post Aug 31 2019, 03:24 PM
Post#4



Posts: 639
Joined: 27-January 07
From: Northern Arizona


I'll get a sample up shortly. Thanks.

It might be, also, that it's because I'm using Access 2019???

This post has been edited by Raas: Aug 31 2019, 03:25 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
Raas
post Aug 31 2019, 03:54 PM
Post#5



Posts: 639
Joined: 27-January 07
From: Northern Arizona


Here we go!
The report titled rptLeftToRight shows the First initial of the Food being displayed. It also shows that the name of the food and the first nutrient is in the header, and on the right side of the document. This is close to what I expected, but not starting on the right side.
The report titled rptwithoutHeader shows what I want, but it doesn't show the First initial of the food in the report. It also doesn't have the footer spacing prior to starting the next food. Same as above.
The report titled rptdownThenUp shows the First Initial of the food, but when the columns snake to the top, the nutrient is displayed in the header area. This report is included just to show some strange happenings, sine the footer spacing prior to starting the next food is being ignored. The First Initial should be spaced by the footer amount of spacing.
Also, it would great if the First Initial didn't duplicate. I used to do a contact list and the letter would show only at the top of the "A" group, then only at the top of the 'B' group, but not here.
I tried to do a contact list just to try it out, and I'm having the same problem with the letter duplicating for each person. That didn't happen before, so I'm wondering ????

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Report_Database.zip ( 154.37K )Number of downloads: 4
 
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Aug 31 2019, 04:34 PM
Post#6


UA Admin
Posts: 35,878
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Why do you want that "First Initial" control on the report?

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
Raas
post Aug 31 2019, 04:42 PM
Post#7



Posts: 639
Joined: 27-January 07
From: Northern Arizona


QUOTE
Why do you want that "First Initial" control on the report?


As a quick visual for anyone looking at the report.
... but, it is the same problem for a contact report as well, which I will be getting to later anyway. A bug?

This post has been edited by Raas: Aug 31 2019, 04:44 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Aug 31 2019, 04:47 PM
Post#8


UA Admin
Posts: 35,878
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Is it supposed to be something that tells the user "this sections contains foods starting with "A" then?


--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Aug 31 2019, 05:03 PM
Post#9


UA Admin
Posts: 35,878
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Maybe something like this is closer to what you want.

Let us know if it moves in the right direction.

Thanks

Attached File  Report_Database_Rev_one.zip ( 141.97K )Number of downloads: 7

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
kiwi
post Aug 31 2019, 05:18 PM
Post#10



Posts: 22
Joined: 26-July 18



Yes. That will work nicely. However, can you tell me what you did that I missed? I did try putting the controls in the header, but must have missed something there.

I appreciate the time taken. Now for the learning phase.
Go to the top of the page
 
Raas
post Aug 31 2019, 05:36 PM
Post#11



Posts: 639
Joined: 27-January 07
From: Northern Arizona


Got it. Looks Great! I'll compare to see what you did. Thanks to all!
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    17th October 2019 - 10:15 AM