UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Report Printing A Report That Relies On A Parameterized Query, Access 2010    

asitte
post Jun 25 2019, 11:05 AM
Post#1

Forgive me if I make mistakes on this question - this is my first attempt at submitting a question.

I have a multi-user (~15 people) solution where Access is used as a front-end read-only monitoring and reporting tool for a SQL Server database.
Several of the interfaces involved in this solution involve using queries that are built on the fly to filter results from SQL views.
These filters are absolutely necessary to execute at the server side due to the large volume of data involved.
In other words, to pull the results of an unfiltered query from some of the SQL server views will NOT be efficient both from a bandwidth standpoint and user interface response standpoint.

The approach I am currently using:
The solution I developed to alleviate bandwidth and presentation logjams is to use pass-through queries as the way to store the SQL query code and then copy and modify the SQL code to use appropriate filter parameters prior to ADODB execution.
Since these SQL requests are against views, much of the business logic is baked into the view. The only filters needed at this point would be name or identity value(s) of one form or another.
The resulting recordset is almost always relatively small (manageable and responsive). Once I have the recordset object in VBA memory, I can populate form objects like textboxes and listboxes with relative efficiency.
This actually works exceedingly well for form presentations and interactions. Relatively low network traffic, fast UI response and data display are the end results because Access only gets the necessary data needed from SQL Server during user interactions.