UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Access Db Caused A Serious Error The Last Time It Was Opened, Access 2007    
 
   
bobalston
post Jun 13 2019, 02:52 PM
Post#1



Posts: 44
Joined: 12-October 04
From: Dallas area


I have been running overnight download processes, vba code in Access. Has worked fine until fairly recently. I know I can manually run it and then it will run again from the scheduled task.
I also know about the registry entry of Access disabled items and have code to run a script to delete the enteries (If I know the exact key).

I have been trying to find the root cause. I looked at the Windows error log, application errors, and the only errors I find are for Microsoft Outlook. Yes, my Access download processes uses MS Outlook to send error messages to me.

How can I find more about what the error condition actually is? Not much info in the MS application error entry.

Bob
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Jun 13 2019, 03:12 PM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,412
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


If this is a recent occurrence, it may be the result of corrupted code.
Suggest you decompile to fix any issues.

See this post for full details of the sequence of action to follow https://www.access-programmers.co.UK/forums...mp;postcount=12

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jun 13 2019, 03:13 PM
Post#3


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 75,505
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi Bob. Do you have error handlers on all your modules in Access?

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
bobalston
post Jun 13 2019, 03:19 PM
Post#4



Posts: 44
Joined: 12-October 04
From: Dallas area


Yes I do have error handlers in my Access code. But I am not sure if I have any around the calls to MS Outlook.

Bob
Go to the top of the page
 
bobalston
post Jun 13 2019, 03:22 PM
Post#5



Posts: 44
Joined: 12-October 04
From: Dallas area


Regarding the possibility of corrupted code, note that the Win app log says the error is in Outlook. Also I run multiple download programs, with largely the same code but downloading different record types, each night. Generally everything works fine.

Also when I try to run manually I get the warning message that the program "caused a serious error the last time it was opened." I opt to open anyway and it runs just fine.

Surely someone else has experienced this!

Bob
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Jun 13 2019, 04:30 PM
Post#6


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,412
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


Yes I have experienced this on several occasions and decompiling often solved the issue...which is why I suggested it.
Whilst it may not work for you, its quick to do and cannot do any harm.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
bobalston
post Jun 13 2019, 06:06 PM
Post#7



Posts: 44
Joined: 12-October 04
From: Dallas area


Colin

Just to be sure I understand, you encountered this problem and was able to select the option of proceed to run the database and it ran correctly. But occasionally you would get the error again.
After decompiling, the problem was resolved permanently?

right?

Thanks
Bob
Go to the top of the page
 
isladogs
post Yesterday, 02:04 AM
Post#8


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,412
Joined: 4-June 18
From: Somerset, UK


Correct....at least until I did something else that triggered instability subsequently.
Its an issue I've experienced very occasionally over a period of several years.
Pinning down the direct cause isn't always easy.

Decompiling only takes a couple of seconds and has often fixed issues with instability for me.
Its a useful tool in any developers armoury but if you try it, do follow all the steps I listed.

FWIW, I also include an error reporting tool in a couple of my apps that sends email to me automatically when an error occurs
However I use CDO for sending email from Access so Outlook isn't required.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
bobalston
post Today, 05:32 PM
Post#9



Posts: 44
Joined: 12-October 04
From: Dallas area


Thanks Colin

I have followed your advice and I will see.

What is the CDO you mention for emailing?

Bob
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    15th June 2019 - 09:41 PM